• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Discussion GUI Assets / Intellectual Property

GUI Assets / Intellectual Property
The first time I saw the PC-BSD mount tray icon for an optical disc, I thought, wow, what a nice, sleek design.

Quite by happenstance, I saw a Windows 7 installer recently, and I could not help but notice the similarities.

Compare:
CD Icon (pc-mounttray)
Win7 Installer Icon

That same image from PC-BSD goes back at least as far as PC-BSD was on github. I did not muck around with the old CVS/SVN repositories. I have not seen this icon in TrueOS yet, but I may have to wait a while before I can play with it and really dig in.

What do you suppose might be the implications of such close derivatives from proprietary software being repackaged in open-source software? I don't work for Microsoft, but I would not want to see this project get in any kind of trouble that could be easily avoided. While I am not a lawyer, I still wonder that there could be some legal issue. Samsung has gotten some grief from Apple a lot lately, I want to say including for reasons about icon design. Has anyone looked into this, gotten permissions, etc.?
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to styr for this post:
  • grahamperrin

RE: GUI Assets / Intellectual Property
I would certainly agree that there is obvious similarity.  I don't know which one actually came first or its true origin, but I did do a couple searches via tineye.

Plain version like in PC-BSD

Version used for Win7 example

There seem to be far too many versions of the image out there in the wild already to believe that it is a protected image.. I am no lawyer and cannot/didn't verify the status of any/all of the variants.
[-] The following 1 user says Thank You to Tigersharke for this post:
  • grahamperrin

(12-08-2016, 06:29 AM)styr Wrote: The first time I saw the PC-BSD mount tray icon for an optical disc, I thought, wow, what a nice, sleek design.