Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2008, 04:59 PM
Gurdil Gurdil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: France
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default [Solved] Sound problem
Hello,

I'm a new bsd user, and I'm french (appologize for my english :wink, so I'm a bit lost.

I've a sound problem, everything seems to be okay, amarok plays music but there is no sound :cry:

Quote:
%cat /dev/sndstat
FreeBSD Audio Driver (newpcm)
Installed devices:
pcm0: <Creative Audigy (EMU10K2)> at io 0xa800 irq 16 kld snd_emu10k1 (8p/2r/4v channels duplex default)
Quote:
%dmesg | grep pcm
pcm0: <Creative Audigy (EMU10K2)> port 0xa800-0xa83f irq 16 at device 6.0 on pci1
pcm0: <SigmaTel STAC9750/51 AC97 Codec>
Quote:
%dmesg | grep audio
pci1: <multimedia, audio> at device 6.0 (no driver attached)
May be the problem is linked to the fact that I have two sound cards : an Audigy an a sound card in my Mothercard. On Ubuntu I was used to make
Quote:
asoundconf set-default-card Audigy
just after install. But asoundconf does not exist on PC-BSD.

Thanks,
Gurdil
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2008, 07:00 PM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default Re: Sound problem
What model of Creative Labs card do you have? Audigy, Audigy 2, Audigy 4, etc.


asoundconf is a Ubuntu specific tool, wouldn't work on PC-BSD odds are because we do _not_ use the Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (ALSA) for sound.


Try installing the emu10kx driver which supports a number of emu10k* audigy cards.


I have an Audigy 4, works with emu10k1 in Ubuntu with Alsa but not in FreeBSD with OSS. My Audigy 4 works perfectly with the emu10kx driver on FreeBSD.


If you install it via ports you will need to install the system source code first (you can find this in in the PC-BSD System Manager) and then build the audio/emu10kx port.


There might be a package (not sure), either way when it's done you'll have to reboot. If sound still doesn't work post the contents of your /boot/loader.conf file.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2008, 07:13 AM
Gurdil Gurdil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: France
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Sound problem
I think (but not sure) that I've got an Audigy (just Audigy, not 2, not 4). Unfortunately Emu10kx doesn't work

My bootloader.conf :
Quote:
linux_load="YES"
ulpt_load="YES"
#vesa_load="YES"
#splash_pcx_load="YES"
#bitmap_load="YES"
#bitmap_name="/boot/loading-screen.pcx"
hw.ata.atapi_dma="1"
autoboot_delay="5"
nvidia_load="YES"
snd_emu10kx_load="YES"
Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2008, 11:35 AM
richardpl richardpl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Croatia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Sound problem
what is output of pciconf -lv
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:10 PM
DragnLord DragnLord is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: C'ville, Va.
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Sound problem
Just to clarify, you installed the port audio/emu10kx (I think it's available as a package also)?
__________________
add [SOLVED] to topics with solutions
psearch: use it, love it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:14 PM
DragnLord DragnLord is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: C'ville, Va.
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Sound problem
I checked, audio/emu10kx is only available as a port (no package).
In a root terminal:
Code:
pkg_add -r portupgrade && portsnap fetch extract && portinstall audio/emu10kx
__________________
add [SOLVED] to topics with solutions
psearch: use it, love it
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2008, 04:51 PM
Gurdil Gurdil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: France
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Sound problem
I installed emu10kx via port, doing :
Code:
su
cd usr/ports/audio/emu10kx
make install clean
And the I added "snd_emu10kx_load="YES"" In my bootloader.conf. Is it okay ?

Code:
%pciconf -lv
none0@pci0:0:0: class=0x058000 card=0x815a1043 chip=0x005e10de rev=0xa4 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'nForce4 Memory Controller'
    class      = memory
isab0@pci0:1:0: class=0x060100 card=0x815a1043 chip=0x005010de rev=0xf1 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'nForce4 PCI to ISA Bridge'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = PCI-ISA
none1@pci0:1:1: class=0x0c0500 card=0x815a1043 chip=0x005210de rev=0xa2 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'nForce4 SMBus'
    class      = serial bus
    subclass   = SMBus
ohci0@pci0:2:0: class=0x0c0310 card=0x815a1043 chip=0x005a10de rev=0xa2 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'nForce4 USB Controller'
    class      = serial bus
    subclass   = USB
ehci0@pci0:2:1: class=0x0c0320 card=0x815a1043 chip=0x005b10de rev=0xa4 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'nForce4 USB 2.0 Controller'
    class      = serial bus
    subclass   = USB
atapci0@pci0:6:0:       class=0x01018a card=0x815a1043 chip=0x005310de rev=0xf3 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'NVidia nForce 4 SLI IDE Controller'
    class      = mass storage
    subclass   = ATA
atapci1@pci0:7:0:       class=0x010185 card=0x815a1043 chip=0x005410de rev=0xf3 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'NVidia nForce 4 SLI IDE Controller'
    class      = mass storage
    subclass   = ATA
atapci2@pci0:8:0:       class=0x010185 card=0x815a1043 chip=0x005510de rev=0xf3 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'NVidia nForce 4 SLI IDE Controller'
    class      = mass storage
    subclass   = ATA
pcib1@pci0:9:0: class=0x060401 card=0x00000000 chip=0x005c10de rev=0xf2 hdr=0x01
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'nForce4 PCI Bridge'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = PCI-PCI
none2@pci0:10:0:        class=0x068000 card=0x812a1043 chip=0x005710de rev=0xf3 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'nForce4 Ultra NVidia Network Bus Enumerator'
    class      = bridge
pcib2@pci0:11:0:        class=0x060400 card=0x00000000 chip=0x005d10de rev=0xf3 hdr=0x01
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'nForce4 PCIe Bridge'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = PCI-PCI
pcib3@pci0:12:0:        class=0x060400 card=0x00000000 chip=0x005d10de rev=0xf3 hdr=0x01
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'nForce4 PCIe Bridge'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = PCI-PCI
pcib4@pci0:13:0:        class=0x060400 card=0x00000000 chip=0x005d10de rev=0xf3 hdr=0x01
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'nForce4 PCIe Bridge'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = PCI-PCI
pcib5@pci0:14:0:        class=0x060400 card=0x00000000 chip=0x005d10de rev=0xa3 hdr=0x01
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'nForce4 PCIe Bridge'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = PCI-PCI
hostb0@pci0:24:0:       class=0x060000 card=0x00000000 chip=0x11001022 rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)'
    device     = '(K8) Athlon 64/Opteron HyperTransport Technology Configuration'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = HOST-PCI
hostb1@pci0:24:1:       class=0x060000 card=0x00000000 chip=0x11011022 rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)'
    device     = '(K8) Athlon 64/Opteron Address Map'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = HOST-PCI
hostb2@pci0:24:2:       class=0x060000 card=0x00000000 chip=0x11021022 rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)'
    device     = '(K8) Athlon 64/Opteron DRAM Controller'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = HOST-PCI
hostb3@pci0:24:3:       class=0x060000 card=0x00000000 chip=0x11031022 rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)'
    device     = '(K8) Athlon 64/Opteron Miscellaneous Control'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = HOST-PCI
fwohci0@pci1:1:0:       class=0x0c0010 card=0x81fe1043 chip=0x30441106 rev=0xc0 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'VIA Technologies Inc'
    device     = 'VT6306 VIA Fire II IEEE-1394 OHCI Link Layer Controller'
    class      = serial bus
    subclass   = FireWire
emu10kx0@pci1:6:0:      class=0x040100 card=0x20051102 chip=0x00041102 rev=0x05 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Creative Technology LTD.'
    device     = 'Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS (WDM) Audigy Audio Processor'
    class      = multimedia
    subclass   = audio
rl0@pci1:7:0:   class=0x020000 card=0x813910ec chip=0x813910ec rev=0x10 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Realtek Semiconductor'
    device     = 'RT8139 (A/B/C/810x/813x/C+) Fast Ethernet Adapter'
    class      = network
    subclass   = ethernet
nvidia0@pci5:0:0:       class=0x030000 card=0x00000000 chip=0x039210de rev=0xa1 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Nvidia Corp'
    device     = 'GeForce 7600 GS'
    class      = display
    subclass   = VGA
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2008, 05:29 PM
DragnLord DragnLord is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: C'ville, Va.
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Sound problem
"emu10kx0@pci1:6:0:" shows it has attached the driver to the device, sound should work
__________________
add [SOLVED] to topics with solutions
psearch: use it, love it
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2008, 05:36 PM
Gurdil Gurdil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: France
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Sound problem
Originally Posted by DragnLord
"emu10kx0@pci1:6:0:" shows it has attached the driver to the device, sound should work
It should but it does not work...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-20-2008, 06:07 PM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default Re: Sound problem
Do you get any error messages at startup ? Such as a pop up about /dev/dsp ?

Also what are the volume levels in kmix and what happens when you try a sound test in the control center?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[solved] Sound problem in 7.2-PRERELEASE sakncli Sound and Multimedia 3 05-09-2009 02:10 PM
Sound Problem.....Not solved Maximus Gaius General Questions 8 04-20-2008 01:36 PM
No Sound After Installation [SOLVED] cklester Sound and Multimedia 3 02-23-2008 05:32 AM
Onboard Sound = No Sound, Error Message [solved] DarkStarAeon Sound and Multimedia 15 01-24-2007 05:41 AM
[SOLVED] ATI IXP Sound Support WillyTP General Support 13 05-30-2006 12:48 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.