Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2007, 09:17 PM
JMan JMan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Java
Hi there

I have installed the Java PBI but when I visit a web page that requires java I still get an error saying no JRE found.

Also if I go to a command prompt and type java or javac I get errors - is the PBI supposed to set everything up for me or do I need to do some post install config?

JMan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2007, 06:47 AM
putu putu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DENPASAR - BALI
Posts: 548
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to putu
Default Re: Java
http://www.freebsd.org/java/

I'm not sure :roll: , but you can try
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2007, 06:40 PM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default Re: Java
The JRE should not include the Java Compiler (javac) as this is a development tool and not a runtime requirement.


What errors do you get typing java into the command line?


What happens when you try testing your install here in konqueror ?


In Settings-->Configure Konqueror-->Java & JavaScript what is the path to java set to?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2007, 01:00 AM
angryfirelord angryfirelord is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Java
Which PBI did you download? If you downloaded the one that ends in .01, then you'll get issues (I had problems with that one). Download the previous one here, which works fine:

http://www.pbidir.com/packages.php?code=311

Then, when that's finished, in Konqueror, go to Settings-->Configure Konqueror-->Java & Javascript. In the path to java, change it to this:
Code:
/usr/local/diablo-jdk1.5.0/jre/
Restart konqueror and you should be able to view java applets.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java JMan General Questions 2 08-25-2006 07:20 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.