Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2007, 06:47 PM
costab costab is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default MODEM ZTE MF620 USB for 3G mobile data connections
Hello,
Regarding PCBSD installation on my Compaq EVO 1020V, I had no problems with hardware, except on the external USB 3G modem. The mobile carrier offer a ZTE MF620 USB 3G data mobile modem and that is not detected by PCBSD. Does anyone find a driver, or a way to put this modem up and running? Tips are accepted. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2007, 02:22 AM
angryfirelord angryfirelord is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: MODEM ZTE MF620 USB for 3G mobile data connections
Plug it in and post of output of dmesg.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2008, 11:21 AM
Mohammed Mohammed is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: MODEM ZTE MF620 USB for 3G mobile data connections
I have Same problem with different modem ?
My modem is ZTE AC8700
I tried to compile kernel with ugensa modem but it does not work

--------------------------------------------
My System Kernel is :
moh@pcbsd# uname -r
7.1-PRERELEASE

System architecture is :-

CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.73GHz (1729.53-MHz 686-class CPU)
Origin = "GenuineIntel" Id = 0x6d8 Stepping = 8
Features=0xafe9fbff<FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE ,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MMOV,PAT,CLFLUSH,DTS,ACPI,M MX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,TM,PBE>
Features2=0x180<EST,TM2>

And this part of dmesg when I attach the usb modem:

uhub0: device problem (STALLED), disabling port 2
ugen0: <ZTE, Incorporated ZTE CDMA Tech, class 0/0, rev 1.10/0.00, addr 2> on uhub0

And here is the result of usbdev:
moh@pcbsd# usbdevs -vd
Controller /dev/usb0:
addr 1: full speed, self powered, config 1, UHCI root hub(0x0000), Intel(0x0000), rev 1.00
uhub0
port 1 powered
port 2 addr 2: full speed, self powered, config 1, ZTE CDMA Tech(0x6000), ZTE, Incorporated(0x05c6), rev 0.00
ugen0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2009, 07:26 AM
bianca bianca is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: MODEM ZTE MF620 USB for 3G mobile data connections
How come the internet light on my DSL modem keeps blanking off?
My brother and I have two separate computers, and the same DSL modem: Westell. For some strange reason, the internet light on his DSL modem stays on always and my blanks on and off excessively. Does anyone know why this is happening? (The internet light is off even as I am typing this question...) Also, the internet light keeps turning red, too.
___________
affiliateelite ~ affiliateelite.com ~ adgooroo ~ adgooroo.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2009, 09:25 AM
John J John J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: MODEM ZTE MF620 USB for 3G mobile data connections
Hi Bianca,

You and your brother both connect to the Internet through the same modem, so it has several switch ports and you each plug into it. The port your brother plugs into doesn't drop connection but yours does.

I'll assume that you use DHCP to get an assigned IP address.

So, if I've understood that correctly there could be several hardware related issues:
1. The ethernet cable connecting your computer to the modem could be bad.
2. The nic in your computer could be bad.
3. The port you're plugged into in the modem could be bad.

The easiest of the these to test is to change the port on the modem that your computer plugs into and see if that changes the dropping connection.

Then you could try a new ethernet cable from the nic in your computer to the modem.

If these don't change anything, see if your Internet provider will replace the modem (hopefully, at no cost).

Lastly, you could have a bad nic and it may need to be replaced. They are, typically, no expensive but you do need to be careful both removing the old one and inserting the new one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2009, 01:30 PM
Martyn Martyn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: MODEM ZTE MF620 USB for 3G mobile data connections
Hello friends,

Please help me out. I can't make my zte mf622 3g usb modem working with my pc-bsd 7.2.

Here is dmesg output:
Code:
...
pid 1732 (nepomukservicestub), uid 1001: exited on signal 6
u3g0: Failed to send CBW to change to modem mode: IOERROR
ucom0: <Qualcomm, Incorporated ZTE CDMA Technologies MSM, class 0/0, rev 1.10/0.00, addr 2> on uhub0
ucom0: configured 3 serial ports (U0.%d)
[root@pcbsd]/home/Martyn(70)#
After starting ppp in terminal and entering these commands:
Code:
set device /dev/cuaU0.0
set speed 460800
enable dns
And then:
Code:
term
It returns endless:
Code:
+ZUSIMR:2

+ZUSIMR:2

+ZUSIMR:2
...
Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2009, 08:52 PM
Martyn Martyn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: MODEM ZTE MF620 USB for 3G mobile data connections
Hi all. I solved my problem.
As i was (& remain) newbbie in BSD i didn't know how to edit ppp.conf properly. The second part of the problem was ipfw that didn't allow icmp communication through tun0 interface.

Those who speaks Russian can read my comments on this issue here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2009, 02:30 AM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default Re: MODEM ZTE MF620 USB for 3G mobile data connections
easiest way is to run dolphin on konqueror through the run dialog as the super user "root". You can also run software like kwrite the same way if you desire.


Me, I'm a nut with a shell.

Code:
username@hostname-$ su - root
password:
root@hostname-# vi /path/to/file
root@hostname-# exit
username@hostname-$
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-06-2009, 05:56 AM
eleanori eleanori is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: MODEM ZTE MF620 USB for 3G mobile data connections
What the difference between network card and broadband modem? Why I must go through modem to connect to the internet? Can I connect to internet just by network card? If modem is like a converter, then what about network card? Does the network card need to convert digital signal to analog before send the data down to the cable? When the other end of the cable is connect to the modem, what happen there? Again another signal convertion by modem?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermitent problem with the networks connections samadhi Networking 2 02-23-2010 01:41 PM
Sprint Mobile Broadband FlyingDutchman76 General Questions 2 01-28-2010 04:26 AM
concurrent connections on PC-BSD Desktop and Server txfwmr1 General Questions 3 07-16-2007 06:12 AM
Allow remote X11 connections in a simple manner? cp Usage Bug Reports (read-only) 4 02-08-2007 08:56 PM
Using two WAN connections simultaneously antik Tips and Tricks 1 12-04-2006 08:49 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.