Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2007, 08:59 PM
VonBSD VonBSD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default can't exec getty '/usr/local/bin/kdm'
Hello:
I just updated my system from 1.2 to 1.3 effortlessly.
I then did one update which went fine and I believe it
was my second update that my system wouldn't boot
into the GUI.

I'm new to the *BSD OS world and I have no idea what
to do next.

This is what the screen shows:
[Errno 17] File exists: '/var/run/denyhosts.pid'
Starting local daemons: Loading snd_ich audio driver...
kldload: can't load snd_ich: File exists
Starting Online Update Check
.
Updating motd.
Starting anacron.
Configuring syscons: blanktime screensaver.
Starting sshd.
Starting cron.
Local package initialization:.
Additional TCP options:.
Refreshing fstab
Starting default moused:.

<current date/time>

FreeBSD/i386 (PCBSD.localhost) (ttyv0)

login: July 12 <time> PCBSD init: can't exec getty '/usr/local/bin/kdm' for port /dev/ttyv8: No such file or directory

The system hangs and displays: last message repeated 20 times and a login prompt.

Thank you in advance for your help!

P.S. I'm getting ready to move and if I don't get this fixed I'll be without
a personal computer since I'm temporarily borrowing someone else's computer to post this topic.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2007, 09:46 PM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default
My guess would be the last patch did not install completly.

You can press control+alt+f2 and log in from the command prompt then check if KDM is there. A semi-example from my system:


login: Terry
Password: <it will not show what you type on screen>
%which /usr/local/bin/kdm
/usr/local/bin/kdm
% which notinstalled
notinstalled: Command not found.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-25-2007, 10:27 PM
VonBSD VonBSD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Hi Terry and to anyone else,

Yeah, my system responded with:
/usr/local/bin/kdm: Command not found.

I was trying to use a Knoppix CD to look at the harddrive and see if I have
any important files that need to be saved but I'm unable to mount the harddrive. The Knoppix CD, for some reason, doesn't recognize the file system on the harddrive of the PCBSD.

I have the PCBSD 1.3 CD image, would I be able to extract/copy the necessary files to my harddrive to make the KDM work? And if so, what commands would I use and which files?

I'm hoping I could save any important files and copy over to my other internal harddrive (i.e., for storage use only) and then either fix or reload PCBSD.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2007, 10:38 PM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default
I'd suggest fetching your PC-BSD install disk and selecting a repair/restore/ what ever it says the option is. It should give the option of Fresh Install or Repair (or some thing to that effect).


It will probably re-copy all the stuff in leaving your home directory alone (don't know about other files, e.g. PBI, ports e.t.c). That will probably get you a working 1.3 system but you'd have to run the patches again.


If you do patch again, make sure the internet connection is strong, mirror is close, and make sure it finishes patching completly (just in case).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-25-2007, 11:30 PM
DragnLord DragnLord is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: C'ville, Va.
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
see if your system has /usr/local/bin/kdm-bin
__________________
add [SOLVED] to topics with solutions
psearch: use it, love it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:35 AM
VonBSD VonBSD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Hello Terry & DragnLord,

I did a
Code:
ls
and
Code:
ls -a
command within /usr/local/bin and I don't see any files or folders.

I also did a repair per Terry's instructions and when I rebooted
the system, the same issue occurs.

Since the harddrive is 40Gib, do you think I can split it and have two partitions, load the PCBSD onto a new partition and move the files over, without disrupting my personal data?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2007, 03:48 AM
Oko Oko is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 679
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Just as an idea.

Get yourself a copy of FreeSBIE2.01. It is basically FreeBSD Live CD operating system. You will be able to boot the system and get Xfce( if you need GUI) Get to your hard disk and extract everything from /usr/home/YOURNAME to flash drive or another hard drive if you have.

Then just do fresh installation with PC-BSD 1.4 beta. In any case you will get FreeBSD 6.2 stable, Xorg 7.2 and lots of extra staff.

I do not think that repairing is worthy of your time unless you really have something important on your system.
__________________
OKO
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-27-2007, 06:58 AM
VonBSD VonBSD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Thanks for your help. I decided to do a fresh install of 1.4 beta and everything seems to be working fine. The FireFox 2.0.0.3 package originally didn't install correctly so I went back to the CD #2 and reinstalled the software. Now FF is working fine.

One thing I've been noticing that for some reason either the updates or pbi packages don't always install correctly.

Thanks PC-BSD for your hard work, I really appreciate it! Once I familiarize myself more with the system, I'll spread the word to others.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-27-2007, 07:38 AM
putu putu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DENPASAR - BALI
Posts: 548
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to putu
Default
Originally Posted by VonBSD
One thing I've been noticing that for some reason either the updates or pbi packages don't always install correctly.
Hemmm....

This is weird .... that's should be work just fine :roll:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is this thing called "can't exec getty /usr/libexec/get mats Installing PC-BSD 6 03-10-2008 03:20 PM
init:can't exec getty '/usr/libexec/getty' on port ttyv0 No sys32592 Startup Bug Reports (read-only) 1 10-21-2007 03:57 PM
can't exec getty shankru85 Installing PC-BSD 11 10-12-2007 11:37 AM
init: can't exec getty '/usr/libexec/getty' renatopvieira Installing PC-BSD 1 03-16-2007 03:44 AM
can't exec getty eimajen Installing PC-BSD 4 06-30-2005 07:49 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.