Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2007, 08:25 AM
xenonsoft xenonsoft is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pamplona-Iruña , Bera, Zaragoza
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Intel 945GM... how??
Well, since first time I've installed PC-BSD (now I use last version) I haven't been able to really configure the video on my laptop. It has a 945GM integrated graphic card, known more as Intel Extreme Graphics, and I am totally unable to do more than 1024 x 748, a resolution which is little low in a 16:9 display which can do 1280 x 800.

Actually, how do you configure a display with this card? I have tried a lot of manuals, faqs, forums... but I always get the same result

Yours,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2007, 12:34 PM
dracheflieger dracheflieger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater State of Northern Kaliforneea
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
I believe that I've read that using the
Code:
/usr/ports/sysutils/915resolution
will work with your system. This URL seems to back that up. It is in the ports and it should work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2007, 02:45 AM
xenonsoft xenonsoft is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pamplona-Iruña , Bera, Zaragoza
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
I'll try it. Hope it will work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2007, 12:31 PM
xenonsoft xenonsoft is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pamplona-Iruña , Bera, Zaragoza
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Well, now... PC-BSD doesn't work
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2007, 01:24 PM
dracheflieger dracheflieger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater State of Northern Kaliforneea
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
What doesn't work about it?...if you can start it in single user (#4 at the ASCII PC-BSD screen) you may need to
Code:
mount -u /
mount -a
once you get to a prompt but then you should be able to
Code:
cd /usr/port/sysutils/915resolution && make deinstall
That should remove it, then reboot and if you only did a make install clean to install it then that will put it back the way it was before you installed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2007, 01:33 PM
xenonsoft xenonsoft is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pamplona-Iruña , Bera, Zaragoza
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Well, actually, It hasn't been a problem of 915resolution: it has been a problem of replacing the Intel i810 driver.

Actually, I don't understand how 915resolution works.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2007, 01:51 PM
dracheflieger dracheflieger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater State of Northern Kaliforneea
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by xenonsoft
Well, actually, It hasn't been a problem of 915resolution: it has been a problem of replacing the Intel i810 driver.

Actually, I don't understand how 915resolution works.
You don't know how to install it or you don't know how it works? If the last then in konsole,
Code:
man 915resolution
should give you some information. If its how to install it then you need to get your ports and source (Chapter 5 of the Quick Guide, Tasks Tab ) and then open konsole, su to root and
Code:
cd /usr/port/sysutils/915resolution && make install clean
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2007, 03:24 PM
xenonsoft xenonsoft is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pamplona-Iruña , Bera, Zaragoza
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Well, I installed it downloding the app from the ports. Thanks for your help Now I am re-installing PC-BSD on my laptop.

Yours,
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2007, 09:03 AM
nizam nizam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Hi guys,

I've installed 915resolution as per dracheflieger instruction .. It installed ok. But when i wanted to change the resolution in Display Settings (after restart), the 1280x800 resolution is not there .. Infact, 1024x768 is the only resolution there ..

Any suggestions on how to troubleshoot it ..?

I'm using Dell Inspiron 630m notebook with Intel 915GM card ..

My Xorg.conf is as follow .. (note, i removed 1024x768 reso) ..
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# XFree86 configuration file for RoFreeSBIE

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
#Option "DisableVidModeExtension" "True"
#Option "NoTrapSignals" "True"
#Option "DisableModInDev" "True"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TrueType/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/illinoy/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/webfonts/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/dejavu/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/hebrew/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/vietnamese/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/indic/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ae_fonts1/AAHS"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ae_fonts1/AGA"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ae_fonts1/FS"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ae_fonts1/Kasr"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ae_fonts1/MCS"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ae_fonts1/Shmookh"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
# Load "record"
Load "ddc"
Load "dri"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "glx"
Load "xtrap"
Load "freetype"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/sysmouse"
Option "Buttons" "6"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
#DefaultDepth 24
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1280x800" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x800" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x800" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 300 190 # mm
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "SEC"
ModelName "3157"
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: [i]: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "ColorKey" # [i]
#Option "CacheLines" # [i]
#Option "Dac6Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "DRI" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoDDC" # [<bool>]
#Option "ShowCache" # [<bool>]
#Option "XvMCSurfaces" # [i]
#Option "PageFlip" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "i810"
VendorName "Intel Corporation"
BoardName "Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks heaps guys ,, Cheers ..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-01-2007, 12:42 PM
dracheflieger dracheflieger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater State of Northern Kaliforneea
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Welcome to the forums nizam

Here are the instructions for running 915resolution. It must be run as root and it must be run every time the system is started. I have never used it (I don't have a laptop) but I have known about it for quite some time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intel clinton Tips and Tricks 0 10-15-2008 06:48 PM
intel video driver (xf86-video-intel 2.4.97.0) Dr_VOLAND Graphics Cards 1 10-06-2008 07:32 PM
Intel 945gm chipset x11 won't start sees it as intel i810 ezcomputers Graphics Cards 2 02-15-2007 11:56 AM
Intel 810 chipset ggordon Tips and Tricks 2 11-11-2006 07:16 PM
Intel Wireless tko0383 FreeBSD Help 20 05-25-2006 02:56 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.