Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2007, 06:41 AM
budious budious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ATL, GA, USA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Wireless Configuration
Need some help with diagnosis of my wireless network connection. My router is using the subnet 192.168.21.X; the router is 192.168.21.1; I have reserved 192.168.21.110 IP for static use or DHCP would assign 100-109 range. Either method is acceptable, I just want it to work. My network does NOT have any WPA/WEP encryption. I followed the directions in the Kernel Source PBI for ndisgen and how to configure the loader.conf and rc.conf files.

I've added the following lines at the bottom of /etc/rc.conf

ifconfig_ndis0="inet 192.168.21.110 netmask 255.255.255.0 ssid homelan"
defaultrouter="192.168.21.1"
hostname="PCBSD.localhost"

Here's the status of ndis0 as ifconfig reports after a boot with no commands entered manually at console.

%ifconfig ndis0

ndis0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAT,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 192.168.21.110 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.21.255
media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect (DS/11Mbps)
status: associated
ssid homelan channel 7 bssid 00:13:10:17:3f:c6
authmode OPEN privacy OFF txpowmax 100

Tried pinging the router, no response, tried pinging other systems on the network, no respones.

%ping 192.168.21.1
ping: sendto: Host is down
...

So I tried adding the default gateway manually, but says it already exists.

%route add default 192.168.21.1
add net default: gateway 192.168.21.1: route already in table

Tried using dhclient, but wasn't any help.

%dhclient ndis0
DHCPDISCOVER on ndis0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
No DHCPOFFERS received.
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.

What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2007, 01:34 PM
dracheflieger dracheflieger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater State of Northern Kaliforneea
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Have you tried pinging yourself (192.168.21.110)? Maybe ndis looks like it's working but is not?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2007, 09:03 PM
budious budious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ATL, GA, USA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Pinging myself at 192.168.21.110 works just fine. The driver finds my wireless network and detects that is on channel 7 which I didn't specify anywhere and gives it status as associated so I assume the driver works just fine and connects to the access point. Seems the trouble is the traffic is not being sent to the router's IP.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2007, 09:32 PM
dracheflieger dracheflieger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater State of Northern Kaliforneea
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
If it's associated you have a link (or should and by what you say it does)....DNS? Look in your /ect/resolv.conf and see if you have valid DNS servers there (and I wouldn't use the router's address but that's me)...that shouldn't have anything to do with pinging the router though...just something to look at.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2007, 09:38 PM
dracheflieger dracheflieger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater State of Northern Kaliforneea
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
You might try taking out PCBSD.localhost in the /etc/rc.conf file and just making it PCBSD. I don't know if this will make any difference but I don't have that in a working rc.conf file on either of mine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2007, 09:40 PM
budious budious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ATL, GA, USA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
I thought DNS would be important at some point but those should not be required to ping IP addresses on the LAN. Anyways, appears my /etc/resolv.conf file is completely empty at the moment. What commands should I use to list the DNS IP's manually? If I could get DHCP to work I would prefer just to get an LAN IP and DNS info from the router as my ISP settings fluctuate.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-14-2007, 10:47 AM
Solarin's Avatar
Solarin Solarin is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 743
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Are you sure you're not using encryption?

This is EXACTLY what happens when you're using an encrypted network and haven't got the correct keys setup.
__________________
Tim McCormick
PC-BSD Lead Developer
tim at pcbsd.org
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-14-2007, 01:50 PM
dracheflieger dracheflieger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater State of Northern Kaliforneea
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
@ Solarin...his ifconfig says no authentication
Quote:
authmode OPEN privacy OFF txpowmax 100
but I don't remember ever seeing the txpowmax setting in mine.

@budious so if your ISP changes frequently, you're going to have to set the DNS somewhere (and you are right, it shouldn't have any effect on an outgoing ping). The /etc/resolv.conf is just a flat file list of DNS server IP addresses, one to each line.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2007, 02:49 PM
Solarin's Avatar
Solarin Solarin is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 743
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Sorry Drache, my point was:

If you access a Wifi network that's encrypted, and don't specify the correct encryption on your client (No encryption counts as incorrect), then it'll associate just fine.

The problem, is that the data it transmits to/from the network will be nonsensical (since it's encrypted). This manifests itself to the user, as things just timing out, and not working. dhclient would indeed be discovering forever.

Pings would fail etc.

Seen it many times, and often people tell me they haven't got WEP setup on their routers, and it usually turns out they're mistaken
__________________
Tim McCormick
PC-BSD Lead Developer
tim at pcbsd.org
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-14-2007, 03:27 PM
dracheflieger dracheflieger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater State of Northern Kaliforneea
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
I got you...they shouldn't let me get up so early and you are absolutely right.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VPN Configuration tupos General Questions 2 10-10-2010 03:34 PM
Intel PRO/Wireless 2100 Configuration vergari.alessandro Networking 5 12-07-2008 05:53 PM
Wireless NIC Problem IntelPro/Wireless 2200BG grahamnorth General Questions 1 06-25-2006 07:00 PM
Help with Dsl Configuration quebitz Installing PC-BSD 2 04-08-2006 07:58 PM
Net configuration vbergae General Questions 1 11-18-2005 11:04 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.