Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:52 PM
beoroed beoroed is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to beoroed
Default Problem with Samba.
Hi all.
Sorry for my bad english.
I have a problem.
There are three computers:
1. PC with FreeBSD 6.1
On it started Samba:
urkraft# pkg_info | grep samba
samba-3.0.23c,1 A free SMB and CIFS client and server for UNIX
2. PC with MS Windows XP Pro SP2. All shared dirs on PC#1 is working, i can copy files between PC#1 and PC#2.
3. PC with PC-BSD 1.3.
When i search shared folders in Konqueror, i find all shared folders in PC#1 and can copy files between PC#1 and PC#3 (in Konqueror addres line entered "smb://urkraft/public").
But when i try to mount this folder (public), I receive the following:
pcbsd-134# mount_smbfs -I 192.168.1.140 //guest@urkraft/public /mnt/net
Password:
pcbsd-134# mount
/dev/ad0s2a on / (ufs, local, soft-updates)
devfs on /dev (devfs, local)
/dev/md0 on /tmp (ufs, local)
linprocfs on /usr/compat/linux/proc (linprocfs, local)
//GUEST@URKRAFT/PUBLIC on /mnt/net (smbfs)
pcbsd-134# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
/dev/ad0s2a 14G 5.0G 7.7G 40% /
devfs 1.0K 1.0K 0B 100% /dev
/dev/md0 771M 40K 709M 0% /tmp
linprocfs 4.0K 4.0K 0B 100% /usr/compat/linux/proc
//GUEST@URKRAFT/PUBLIC 234G 147G 87G 63% /mnt/net
pcbsd-134# ls -la /mnt/net
total 0
pcbsd-134#

Why /mnt/net is empty?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2007, 08:52 AM
g0lem g0lem is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 572
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to g0lem
Default
do you have permissions for /mnt/net? i have a similar problem here, except when i try to mount the samba server's shared drive to a pcbsd computer, it asks for my password, but pressing enter will do just fine;

also, i can't mount the drive during startup, because it stops and waits for me to press enter, and does nothing, but i can make a simple script that runs when kde starts, so i have it mounted when the desktop appears:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
mount -t smbfs //server/samba ~/server     #
                                           #as it is here
the final line has an extra 'enter' at the end of the line, so when it asks for the password, the empty line comes and tells that it's an empty password.

it worls for me. of course, the ~/server has full permissions (drwxrwxrwx).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samba problem Killer Networking 1 02-12-2008 12:05 PM
Problem with samba client. SunnyB General Questions 2 04-23-2007 10:17 AM
1.3 Samba server problem emed Installing PC-BSD 6 01-09-2007 07:45 AM
Samba problem? Amigamerlin Usage Bug Reports (read-only) 1 09-23-2005 03:04 PM
Samba shares of large directory structures Problem mattanderson1_2000 General Questions 0 07-05-2005 08:27 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.