Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:37 AM
JMan JMan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default FLASH
Hi there

Just downloaded and installed 1.3 - and it looks great!
Downloaded FF browser and it works well - much faster for some reason.
Visited this site http://www.pollypocket.com for my daughter and it says that we need flash - so I downloaded the FLASH pbi and installed it - I did the scan from konqueror and it seemed to accept it.

But after installing the FLASH pbi the pollypocket site still tells me that I need to have flash installed.

So how can I tell if the flash is actually working on my machine?

I am using Kong and FF but neither work.

Regards
JMan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:14 AM
antik antik is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 3,610
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: FLASH
Originally Posted by JMan
But after installing the FLASH pbi the pollypocket site still tells me that I need to have flash installed.
I think this site need Flash version 8 or 9 and don't work with Flash 7.
__________________
"All parts should go together without forcing. Therefore, if you can't get them together again, there must be a reason. By all means, do not use a hammer." -- IBM maintenance manual, 1975
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:29 AM
Solarin's Avatar
Solarin Solarin is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 743
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Flash 8 isn't available on *nix, and 9 is coming 'soon' to linux, I believe it's still in beta at the moment.
__________________
Tim McCormick
PC-BSD Lead Developer
tim at pcbsd.org
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2007, 03:26 PM
marc marc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Silesia/Poland
Posts: 1,322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to marc
Default
Well, it doesn`t change the fact, that most of the flash sites WILL WORK.
I have no problems with Opera + Flash 7 PBI, but can`t open this particular site too.
__________________
Marc Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2007, 05:21 PM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default
I've seen a few sites not work properly like the buttons on my clans webpages main theme. Unless you have flash8+ but it should _not_ say you don't have it as far as I know.

Type 'aboutlugins' into the address bar and press enter.

I've yet to get flashplayer working 'fool proof' out of any thing but konqueror so far. Also I've had no problems with konqueror after rescanning for plugins and saving the changes. Mozillas been a bit touch and go though.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2007, 05:58 PM
Mateo Mateo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
There is a plugin registration hack that you could try:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... ost1278350

It might fool the site into thinking you have Flash player 9 installed.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2007, 06:41 PM
marc marc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Silesia/Poland
Posts: 1,322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to marc
Default
Well, may be useful, but probobly won`t work with Opera
__________________
Marc Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2007, 09:58 PM
Charles Charles is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,710
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Marc, do Polish characters display properly in Opera? I remember there was this problem last year. If not, please get in touch with me: charles_at_pcbsd_d0t_org :wink:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:30 PM
marc marc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Silesia/Poland
Posts: 1,322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to marc
Default
Charles, they seem to be ok. Well, I had to change the font from Bitstream to DejaVu, but that`s all I guess.
Oh, and the polish language file ... it was needed.
Anyway - everything works just fine and the fonts are displayed properly.

BTW I love Opera!
__________________
Marc Smith
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2007, 01:00 AM
T-Keith T-Keith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 183
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by marc
Well, it doesn`t change the fact, that most of the flash sites WILL WORK.
I have no problems with Opera + Flash 7 PBI, but can`t open this particular site too.
I don't know about that. It seems almost every video site that uses flash doesn't work and they is what MOST flash is these days.

-T
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flash 9 - Who needs it? dejamuse The Lounge 4 02-23-2008 03:03 PM
Flash sanguinemoon General Bug Reports 8 01-24-2007 03:11 PM
Flash saize General Questions 7 09-25-2006 11:19 AM
Flash 7.0 for BSD? madzzoni PBI Discussion 28 07-31-2006 11:11 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.