Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2006, 03:46 AM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default No Hardware Accelleration on ATI Radeon Xpress 200M
My laptop is running a ATI Radeon video card /w 64MB of system memory for it's use. PCBSD and Windows say it's a Xpress 200M, Gateway says they sold me a X300.

I installed a PBI called 3DDesk, and when trying to run it reports that I have no hardware acceration ^_^

Now I don't care about this program (as it blacked my screen out and I couldn't terminate it or restart X. Forcing a pushbutton emg shutdown of my desktop). But I do care about the fact that Video (wmv/dvd) is slow as stick figures and even that 3D Chess game is unplayable. (I like Chess!!)

I had the same video card on another laptop and it was able to run a 64MB T&L required game (cartoony but fine). On Windows this laptop has no probs with DVD playback being slow motion.

PCBSD is 1.1 patched to 1.11, my custom kernel as also been overwritten with the PCBSD1.11 it seems (if you ask uname it is)

From what I've heard of 1.11 I should be getting 3D acceleration but it's not helping if I am ^_^

Can some one please give me a hand here?

System Specs: http://support.gateway.com/s/Mobile/Q10 ... 2sp2.shtml

Hmm Windows has it's purposes still, but I think some Debian GNU/Linux or NetBSD should fit well besides my PCBSD install.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2006, 09:03 AM
antik antik is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 3,610
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: No Hardware Accelleration on ATI Radeon Xpress 200M
Originally Posted by TerryP
My laptop is running a ATI Radeon video card /w 64MB of system memory for it's use. PCBSD and Windows say it's a Xpress 200M, Gateway says they sold me a X300.
Code:
# dmesg | grep drm
drm0: <ATI Radeon AP 9600> port 0xc000-0xc0ff mem 0xd8000000-0xdfffffff,0xe9000000-0xe900ffff irq 19 at device 0.0 on pci3
info: [drm] AGP at 0xd0000000 128MB
info: [drm] Initialized radeon 1.19.0 20050911
info: [drm] Loading R300 Microcode
Code:
# cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep dri
        X.Org XInput driver : 0.5
(--) Using syscons driver with X support (version 2.0)
(II) LoadModule: "dri"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.so
(II) Module dri: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/ati_drv.so
        ABI class: X.Org XInput driver, version 0.5
        ABI class: X.Org XInput driver, version 0.5
(II) ATI: ATI driver (version 6.5.7) for chipsets: ati, ativga
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/radeon_drv.so
        *** and newer cards. The 3d mesa driver is not provided in this tree.
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
(II) RADEON(0): [drm] created "radeon" driver at busid "pci:0000:03:00.0"
(II) RADEON(0): [dri] Visual configs initialized
What is yours?
__________________
"All parts should go together without forcing. Therefore, if you can't get them together again, there must be a reason. By all means, do not use a hammer." -- IBM maintenance manual, 1975
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2006, 07:11 PM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default
I put the outputs on my jumpdrive to get it exact.

dmesg | grep drm
has no output, returns me to my prompt.

%cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep dri
Code:
	X.Org XInput driver : 0.5
(--) Using syscons driver with X support (version 2.0)
(II) LoadModule: "dri"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.so
(II) Module dri: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/drivers/vesa_drv.so
	ABI class: X.Org XInput driver, version 0.5
	ABI class: X.Org XInput driver, version 0.5
(II) VESA: driver for VESA chipsets: vesa
Just for the heck of it I also did a grep for ati and ATI in dmesg.

Code:
ohci0: <ATI SB400 USB Controller> mem 0xd0000000-0xd0000fff irq 19 at device 19.0 on pci0
usb0: <ATI SB400 USB Controller> on ohci0
uhub0: ATI OHCI root hub, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1
ohci1: <ATI SB400 USB Controller> mem 0xd0001000-0xd0001fff irq 19 at device 19.1 on pci0
usb1: <ATI SB400 USB Controller> on ohci1
uhub1: ATI OHCI root hub, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1
ehci0: <ATI SB400 USB 2.0 controller> mem 0xd0002000-0xd0002fff irq 19 at device 19.2 on pci0
usb2: <ATI SB400 USB 2.0 controller> on ehci0
uhub2: ATI EHCI root hub, class 9/0, rev 2.00/1.00, addr 1
atapci0: <ATI IXP400 UDMA133 controller> port 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6,0x170-0x177,0x376,0x8410-0x841f at device 20.1 on pci0
pcm0: <ATI IXP 400> mem 0xd0003400-0xd00034ff irq 17 at device 20.5 on pci0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2006, 07:23 PM
antik antik is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 3,610
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by TerryP
I put the outputs on my jumpdrive to get it exact.

dmesg | grep drm
has no output, returns me to my prompt.

%cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep dri
Code:
(II) VESA: driver for VESA chipsets: vesa
You kernel does not have DRM support???? Show me your:
Code:
# uname -a
Looks like your card is not supported. I found one interesting post though.
__________________
"All parts should go together without forcing. Therefore, if you can't get them together again, there must be a reason. By all means, do not use a hammer." -- IBM maintenance manual, 1975
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2006, 07:47 PM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default
FreeBSD Dixie 6.1-RELEASE-p2 FreeBSD 6.1-RELEASE-p2 #0: Fri Jun 16 09:21:34 PDT 2006 root@PCBSD.localhost:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/PCBSDv1.11 i386

I installed PCBSD 1.1 and compiled a custom kernel (indent DIXIELAND), after the 1.11 patch came out I installed that as you see.

ALSO in regards to the 1.11 patch I just noticed after unmounted my lexar (i like to check df after -> paranoria) that their was a "md0" in the output.

a grep of /etc/rc.conf for temp showed tmpmfs enabled with 800m size, and -S flag. I did not enable this on this box myself. I know this for fact as I created a /var partition in my BSD slice with a /tmp symlink to /var/tmp. Thus disabling my experiment. I commented these lines out on my desktop as it was not the size I had optimized for in my config on the Desktop.

I am also on pcbsd's irc channel.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2006, 05:42 AM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default
It kinda sucks when your mouse is lagging and you have BillardGL set to the lowest settings, tux kart is slowmotion, and chess is played on a snail board......

Prehapes scewing around with xorg.conf or loading a few kernel modules might help?

I know my laptop is for Programming studies & PBI work, but *ahem* everyone needs a few time killers to relax with.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2006, 07:32 AM
antik antik is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 3,610
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by TerryP
FreeBSD Dixie 6.1-RELEASE-p2 FreeBSD 6.1-RELEASE-p2 #0: Fri Jun 16 09:21:34 PDT 2006 root@PCBSD.localhost:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/PCBSDv1.11 i386

I installed PCBSD 1.1 and compiled a custom kernel (indent DIXIELAND), after the 1.11 patch came out I installed that as you see.
have your kernel drm compiled in?
Code:
# Direct Rendering modules for 3d accelleration 
 device       drm      # DRM Core Module 
 device       mach64drm   # ATI Rage Pro 
 device      mgadrm      # AGP Matrox G200 
 device      r128drm         # ATI Rage 128 
 device      radeondrm       # ATI Radeon 
 device      sisdrm      # SIS 300/305
and you have to replace your xorg vesa driver with ati in config file.

Originally Posted by TerryP
ALSO in regards to the 1.11 patch I just noticed after unmounted my lexar (i like to check df after -> paranoria) that their was a "md0" in the output.

a grep of /etc/rc.conf for temp showed tmpmfs enabled with 800m size, and -S flag. I did not enable this on this box myself. I know this for fact as I created a /var partition in my BSD slice with a /tmp symlink to /var/tmp. Thus disabling my experiment. I commented these lines out on my desktop as it was not the size I had optimized for in my config on the Desktop.
Don't worry about md0 device- this is memory based temp filesystem. The beauti of this feature is that tmp operations is performed in memory so maybe 10 times faster than with your hard disk. And it consumes no memory virtually- when you copy large files onto tmp directory if memory is full, it starts using swap space for this- so your swap partition is used too without touching your original filesystem. Come in handy if diskspace is nearly full. Your system is not using swap space anyway, right?
__________________
"All parts should go together without forcing. Therefore, if you can't get them together again, there must be a reason. By all means, do not use a hammer." -- IBM maintenance manual, 1975
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2006, 03:22 PM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default
I have never seen BSD use my swap space on any machine, even low ram ones.

My custom kernel was an optimized for hardware PCBSD1.1 /FBSD6.1 with APM. It worked great, then I installed the pcbsd update the day after it came out. (About a week after building the custom kernel.) I would think though that PCBSD1.1-1.11a patch would've replaced my kernel with the updated one.

I'm going to erase windows and it's recovery partitiom (ad0s1 and ad0s2 respectivly). And make a backups before I try changing xorg.

I used kldstat to show me verbos information about the kernel & loaded modules. These are the only entraies related to those cards -> I see nothing else for drm, can find nothing else (as far as I know) for dri (if it's there) or apm.

90 pci/dpt
91 pci/i915
92 pci/mach64
93 pci/mga
94 pci/r128
95 pci/radeon
96 pci/savage
97 pci/sisdrm
98 pci/tdfx
.....
385 pci/agp_ali
386 pci/agp_amd
387 pci/agp_amd64
388 pci/agp_ati
389 pci/agp_i810
390 pci/agp_intel
391 pci/agp_nvidia
392 pci/agp_sis
393 pci/agp_via
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My hopeless Radeon Xpress 200 IGP (R300) ews Graphics Cards 4 02-16-2009 04:41 AM
ATI Radeon Driver Called 'radeon'? [SOLVED] cklester Installing PC-BSD 3 02-23-2008 05:10 AM
ATI Xpress 200M (RC410 5a62) dedgeroy Graphics Cards 3 01-10-2008 05:51 PM
ATI R250 (9000 RADEON MOBILE) which driver: ati or radeon? 8f27e956 Graphics Cards 0 09-30-2007 11:55 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.