Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2006, 07:29 PM
paralias paralias is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Installation/Resolution problem...
Hi to all!
I've just installed pcbsd on my pc. I have an LCD monitor (refresh rate up to 60Hz) and during boot, the splash screen didn't show up and the monitor displayed "refresh rate out of bounds". I pressed tab to leave the splash screen. During installation (forgot to mention that i chose the default installation 1024x768) there was no problem with the screen. When the installation completed, during the next boot i can't see anything from the login manager cause its configured at >60Hz. What can i do to boot into console in order to fix the refresh rate? It starts automatically the xserver. Please help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2006, 07:46 PM
antik antik is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 3,610
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Installation/Resolution problem...
Originally Posted by paralias
Hi to all!
I've just installed pcbsd on my pc. I have an LCD monitor (refresh rate up to 60Hz) and during boot, the splash screen didn't show up and the monitor displayed "refresh rate out of bounds". I pressed tab to leave the splash screen. During installation (forgot to mention that i chose the default installation 1024x768) there was no problem with the screen. When the installation completed, during the next boot i can't see anything from the login manager cause its configured at >60Hz. What can i do to boot into console in order to fix the refresh rate? It starts automatically the xserver. Please help!
Press Ctrl+F2 (go to console) and log in as root user.
Now from command line type:

Code:
# ee /etc/X11/XF86Config
Change lines:

Quote:
Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 380 300 # mm
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "SAM"
ModelName "SyncMaster"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 60.0 # Change this
Option "DPMS"
EndSection
__________________
"All parts should go together without forcing. Therefore, if you can't get them together again, there must be a reason. By all means, do not use a hammer." -- IBM maintenance manual, 1975
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2006, 07:50 PM
paralias paralias is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
ok! Did it :-) thanx a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2006, 05:31 PM
benign_man benign_man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I have resolution issues too!!!
Hello guys.Although PCBSd is my preferred alternative OS I can't seem to be able to fix the resolution.Although my TFT Neovo F-417 offers 1280X1024 at 75 Hz, PCBSD doesn't allow me to use these parameters and I'm stuck with the 1024X768.

I tried the /etc/X11/XF86Config command as root but it is invalid.By saying this I mean that I'm shown zero entries.Like, monitor zero,and all other hadrware zeros.As if I had no hardware.

I also tried this command here but the command prompt returns ''command invalid''. When I want to enter as ''root' I type su -.Then I am asked for my root passport and all seem fine.But when I type the commands they are either invalid or non effective.The only command that I can get to work is : xorgcdf -textmode. But after I configure the screen as I want,then PCBSD becomes unbootable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2006, 05:35 PM
benign_man benign_man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default One more thing...
I have the same problems also with Mepis.However Mandriva 2006 configured everything perfectly from te installation stage! By far superior hardware recognition.But I'm really fond of PCBSD so I hope you can help me with this.
Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2006, 07:40 PM
antik antik is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 3,610
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: I have resolution issues too!!!
Originally Posted by benign_man

I also tried this command here but the command prompt returns ''command invalid''. When I want to enter as ''root' I type su -.Then I am asked for my root passport and all seem fine.But when I type the commands they are either invalid or non effective.The only command that I can get to work is : xorgcdf -textmode. But after I configure the screen as I want,then PCBSD becomes unbootable.
Code:
# shutdown now
# Xorg -configure
# cp /root/xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf
# exit
__________________
"All parts should go together without forcing. Therefore, if you can't get them together again, there must be a reason. By all means, do not use a hammer." -- IBM maintenance manual, 1975
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:24 PM
fvs fvs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Installation/Resolution problem...
Originally Posted by antik
Originally Posted by paralias
Hi to all!
I've just installed pcbsd on my pc. I have an LCD monitor (refresh rate up to 60Hz) and during boot, the splash screen didn't show up and the monitor displayed "refresh rate out of bounds". I pressed tab to leave the splash screen. During installation (forgot to mention that i chose the default installation 1024x768) there was no problem with the screen. When the installation completed, during the next boot i can't see anything from the login manager cause its configured at >60Hz. What can i do to boot into console in order to fix the refresh rate? It starts automatically the xserver. Please help!
Press Ctrl+F2 (go to console) and log in as root user.
Now from command line type:

Code:
# ee /etc/X11/XF86Config
Change lines:

Quote:
Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 380 300 # mm
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "SAM"
ModelName "SyncMaster"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 60.0 # Change this
Option "DPMS"
EndSection
New at this what do i enter if i want "1024X768 and refresh 75+" Don't know what to add? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2006, 10:30 AM
benign_man benign_man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks a million!!!
Good news.Thanks to FVS's input I was able to finally configure my TFT monitor to acceptable visual levels and at 1280X1024.I can't tell you how happy I am since I like psbsd very much.

I'm running it now and so far all is fine.Thanks a lot to all of you for your kindness and help.

(Viva Argentina today ! )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display resolution problem chiel Graphics Cards 1 08-30-2009 12:00 AM
How to change installation resolution? (1.3.01) pandronic Installing PC-BSD 6 01-28-2007 02:15 AM
Problem with resolution drabina General Questions 3 11-11-2006 06:27 PM
Resolution problem, please help bsdnoobie1 FreeBSD Help 8 08-12-2005 03:48 AM
Installation / Resolution / Old Monitors TentacleJoe General Questions 7 06-30-2005 08:39 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.