Old 03-02-2006, 10:23 AM

Default PC-BSD performance!!
Hi first I would like to thanks the people behind PC-BSD is without a doubt the easest unix os for what was created for (desktop). well the other day I was kinda bored, and wanted to do something interesting, since I just got the new bellsouth DSL 6 mbps conection I downloaded alot of other OSs like mepis, Kubuntu, nexenta, desktop BSD, I wanted to make my own benchmark performance tests,(not so technically gifted myself) well I got a stopwatch and made 7 different test each with 5 samples of the same. here is how it went ok, ( rembember I am not technical minded myself)

well it took me less than 15 minut to download each of the OS. but nexenta didn't work for some reason.

my computer is an oldone I will be buying a new one next month

gateway P3 730MGZ 125MB of ram with 14GB

I made 5 test of each I will give only the best time and the worst time

1- was boottime: (howlong it took from off to the user loging promt)

mepis: 1- 1 min with 26 sec- 2- 1 min with 45 sec

desktopBSD: 1- 1 min with 14 sec 2- 1 min with 16 sec

PC-BSD: 1- 1 min with 20 sec 2- 1 min with 30 sec

2- from selecting a user to fully loaded KDE:

mepis: 1- 36 sec 2- 36 sec

desktopBSD: 1- 19 sec 2- 22 sec

PC-BSD: 1- 26 SEC 2- 27 sec

3- I used Ksysguard to see the use of ram while the pc was idle

mepis: physical mem: 121,832 KB swap: 12 KB

desktopBSD: p= 120,252 kb swap: 40KB

pc-bsd: P= 116,600 kb swap: 16 KB ( for some reason the swapfile is 1,050,000KB )

4- after opening konqeror browser 20 times in a row

mepis physical mem: 121,636kb swap: 35,000kb

desktopBSD: p: 120,500KB swap: 28,000kb

pc-bsd: P:120,435 kb swap: 168,000KB (the computer got really really slow, I was confused)

5- from clicking restart to user loging prompt

mepis: 3 minut 15sec

desktopbsd: 1 minute 45 sec

PC-bsd: 2 minute even.

6- shutdown time.

mepis: 28 sec

desktopbsd: 45 sec

pc-bsd:30 sec.
----------------------------------------------------------