Old 10-10-2013, 01:03 AM

Default Appcafe download error
Hello everybody,

I'm very new to PC-BSD. I have just registered on this forum.
I have some experience with the Linux OS and know how to use the console / terminal to find and/or fix things and such or install packages, etcetera.
Also installing packages with the 'pkg' command works very well and don't have any problems with that.

I don't know if its okay I start a new thread about it or that I should post in already existing thread with similar problems. I apologize if I should post in another thread about this.

Anyway, here's my description of my problem:

With the Appcafe I can't seem to install anything. I get an error window and it states:
(I tried to install Audacity, an audio editor, but the error is showing with every PBI I try to install via Appcafe).

Code:
FETCH: /audio/audacity/9/x64/audacity-2.0.4-amd64.pbi
Download Failed:
ERROR: Failed downloading PBI
I am from The Netherlands and the host command in a terminal produces this:
Code:
pkg.cdn.pcbsd.org is an alias for pkg.pcbsd.scaleengine.net.
pkg.pcbsd.scaleengine.net has address 149.255.37.14
pkg.pcbsd.scaleengine.net has address 77.95.230.182
I have read a similar thread about this problem and there was a user from Germany who has or had the same problem.
The geographic location of The Netherlands is right next to (to the left) Germany.
Maybe it might be a issue only in certain parts of Europe ?

Some more details about my internet connection:

I am very certain that I have a very stable internet connection (120 mbit cable).
Since I'm with my current ISP (since about 2 years) I didn't experience any problems whatsoever or just very minor connection problems when there is a major maintenance from the ISP on the network.