Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2013, 08:03 PM
lurch lurch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Barnstaple. U.K.
Posts: 130
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Removing users on rolling release, and upgrade manager not working
Hi
I have installed a rolling release working fine but a couple of problems.

Update manager notifies when updates/upgrades are available but the following happens:-
Open update manager>
Enter password (I have tried both root and user password) with root password authorisation box disappears with user password upgrade/update screen appears starts update/upgrade then stops and disappears.
To update I have to open a terminal as root and use "pc-pkg update", "pc-pkg uograde" to install.

During the upgrades install a message appears "If you are not using Samba remove the following directories" (it was took quick to write them down).
It also says to "manually remove" the following users colord, polkit, avahi, haldaemon, vboxusr, webcamd, pulse, kdm, and gdm.

Is it O.K. to remove the Samba directories and the users?
Ken
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.