Old 07-15-2013, 01:25 AM

Default ZFS why?
Ok, I have been using PCBSD as my main pc for about 4 months now and I like it.

I have a system with 12GB RAM and ZFS.

I have never touched it, I could be running ext3 for all I could tell.

I know ZFS can do all sorts of cool things, but what are folks doing with it on the desktop. (Running a linux jail with zfs snapshots might be cool but holds little interest for me at this time).

"Kris Moore: ZFS will change your life."

So what am I missing? (I am not bashing zfs here, I seriously want to know what else I could be doing with it)

Bill
Old 07-15-2013, 08:52 AM

You are missing save upgrades and test environments with beadm. E.g. before an upgrade, make a new boot environment, and if anything goes wrong, you could just reboot into the old knowen to work boot environment. You could also have periodic snapshots of your $HOME, and if you by mistake deleted a file, you could restore it from an old snapshot. There are many more ways ZFS could be used for the desktop.
Old 07-15-2013, 01:14 PM
Administrator

Correct, probably the biggest "feature" for desktop users will be the instant system backup & system restore functionality we can offer via boot-environments. Think of windows system restore that actually works

Alongside that will be how we do home-directory encryption using PEFS, which using ZFS under the hood allows us to still do snapshots of your encrypted data, etc.
Old 07-15-2013, 02:50 PM

Aside from the snapshots and boot options, there is deduplication, data compression, multiple copies of files to counter bit-rot, easy expansion of storage space, on-line cleaning.... All of these are great for desktop systems.
Old 07-16-2013, 01:19 PM