Old 05-01-2013, 03:57 PM

Default dual booting pcbsd 9 with Windows 7
I followed the instructions on the PC-BSD wiki a number of times and apparently have successfully installed it. I even set it up on VirtualBox before placing it on a partition and ran into no issues there. However, when I select it to boot it gets as far as starting X, performs some functions and reboots the machine, returning me to the boot loader.

I'm not a computer expert and have begun this with the idea of learning more. Could someone offer a solution or a strategy for isolating the problem, perhaps a link to useful troubleshooting instructions?

Thanks.
Old 05-02-2013, 04:37 PM
Administrator

hey jb! Can you tell us a little bit about the hardware you are using? We are looking for Processor type and speed, amount of memory, video card, and anything else you think might be relevant.

How many gigabytes did you make your pc-bsd partition? How much free space do you have on both partitions?

Thanks,

Josh
Old 05-02-2013, 05:35 PM

I have a ThinkPad T430.

Processor: Intel Core i5-3320 (3M Cache, up to 3.30 GHz)

Memory: 8 GB DDR3 - 1600MHz (2 DIMM)

Graphics: NVIDIA NVS 5400M Graphics with Optimus Technology, 1 GB DDR3 Memory

HDD: 500 GB, 7200 rpm

Windows: allocated 100 GB; 59.1 GB free

PC-BSD: allocated 75 GB; amount used unknown: it doesn't appear in Windows Explorer. I performed the installation loading KDE as the sole desktop environment with default settings, opting for ZFS and deselecting the boot loader. I used EasyBCD instead.

The only drive showing in Windows Explorer is C. I've reclaimed the Q drive where Lenovo stores the Windows and factory backup. The S drive that Lenovo includes remains as does an extended partition evenly divided into two logical drives for the balance of available disk space.

I don't know if it matters, but I arranged the partitions so that the operating systems were book-ending the extended partition.