Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2013, 08:20 PM
goraxmax goraxmax is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 208
Thanks: 14
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default How to install PCBSD on 2 hdd
Hi,

I am trying to install PCBSD 9.1 on 2 hard drives :

the first (500 go hdd) should contains /home
the second (64 go ssd) have to contains all except /home

During the installation :
in the basic setup mode : i can choose only 1 hdd
in the advanced setup mode : i can choos only 1 disk too
in the expert mode.... xterm is ok, but i am not expert.....


could you give me the "how to", and add the feature (multi drive select in installation) ?

Thanks

Last edited by goraxmax; 01-09-2013 at 10:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2013, 09:19 PM
sweet skunk sweet skunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 3rd Stone
Posts: 56
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Default
Try installing pcbsd on the master HD first, then after successfull, install pcbsd on the slave drive.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2013, 06:43 AM
david_a david_a is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 244
Thanks: 6
Thanked 59 Times in 47 Posts
Default
I disagree with sweet skunk on this one.

I did something like this, though it wasn't my /usr/home that I replaced. Please someone speak up if my plan here is full of errors.

- Install to the SSD; ignore the other disk during install.

- After install, add the other disk and mount it at /usr/home; when using ZFS this is very simple. Here's how:

After install is finished, give these commands from within your new system:

[first, make a little backup of the /usr/home that is already here]
Code:
# cp -a /usr/home /usr/home_copy
[then set up your new disk]
Code:
# zpool create -m /usr/home home ada1
[optionally, make a separate ZFS "disk" for each user]
Code:
# zfs create home/your-user-name-here
Code:
# zfs create home/other-user-name-here
(one for each user that you plan to set up; you may set up sub-directories within these as their own ZFS "disks" too, if you like.)

[... and then restore from your little backup]
Code:
# cp -a /usr/home_copy /usr/home
; this will use the entire second disk as /usr/home, which you may now use as normal. [NOTES: You may change the pool name "home" to anything you like, and you must change "ada1" as necessary to refer to your disk's entry in /dev . Please refer to zpool's man page to see what options are available for the "zpool create ..." command.]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2013, 02:33 AM
jag3773 jag3773 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CO
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default ZFS Pool with SSD Cache
Hello,

Another option would be to do a regular ZFS install to the 500GB drive. Afterward, you could add the SSD to the zpool as a cache device.

This configuration would not give you the extra space but it would increase your IO speed.

The command you would run to add the SSD as a cache device is:
Code:
zpool add tank1 cache [ssddevicename]
__________________
Thanks,
Jesse

http://www.ekfocus.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-14-2013, 06:11 PM
sweet skunk sweet skunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 3rd Stone
Posts: 56
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by sweet skunk View Post
Try installing pcbsd on the master HD first, then after successfull, install pcbsd on the slave drive.
oooppss...MISSED THE SSD OPTION...SO SORRY!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.