Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2012, 12:37 PM
habernir habernir is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Why do you released PC-BSD 9.1?? its not ready!
i want to say good work BUT NOT ENOUGH!!

alots of bugs, alots of BLACK SCREEN at BOOT (for alot of users)

HOW DO YOU RELEASE THIS WHEN YOU HAVE A LOTS OF BUGS??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2012, 01:05 PM
kmoore134's Avatar
kmoore134 kmoore134 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 163 Times in 127 Posts
Default Why do you released PC-BSD 9.1?? its not ready!
What particular hardware are you using? ATI? Intel? There are known
issues with ATI especially at this point, which won't be resolved until
a future release. NVIDIA is still the preferred way to go.
__________________
----
Kris Moore
PC-BSD Founder
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kmoore134 For This Useful Post:
sg1efc (12-20-2012)
  #3  
Old 12-19-2012, 01:41 PM
JoshDW19's Avatar
JoshDW19 JoshDW19 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seymour, TN
Posts: 177
Thanks: 16
Thanked 51 Times in 37 Posts
Default Bugs?
No matter how much testing you do there is always going to be some bugs or compatibility issues. The difference here is you have developers that are willing to help you, but you are really going to have to be more specific than just saying there are lots of bugs if you want assistance. Have you checked and made sure you are running compatible hardware?

Thanks,

Josh
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JoshDW19 For This Useful Post:
sg1efc (12-20-2012), tjl3 (12-22-2012)
  #4  
Old 12-19-2012, 02:11 PM
thnewguy thnewguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 797
Thanks: 3
Thanked 54 Times in 43 Posts
Default
I'm running PC-BSD on a machine with an ATI video card. It can work, but needs to load up in VESA mode. Not ideal, but that's the price one pays for buying bad video cards.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2012, 05:02 PM
david_a david_a is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 244
Thanks: 6
Thanked 59 Times in 47 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by habernir View Post
i want to say good work BUT NOT ENOUGH!!

alots of bugs, alots of BLACK SCREEN at BOOT (for alot of users)

HOW DO YOU RELEASE THIS WHEN YOU HAVE A LOTS OF BUGS??
Some things are bugs. Some things are "doesn't work on this kind of hardware" - which is not good, but is not a bug.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2012, 05:42 PM
habernir habernir is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default
the problem its not even load the kernel after he let me choose
which HD to load . like this

F1:Freebsd
F5: Drive1
F6: Drive2

the hardware i have

-nvidia Geforce 560TI
-intel e8400
-intel 37 chipset

the problem its do the same error in my office that the hardware that i have its

-nvidia 680
-intel i7 3770

and i see that alot of the people here have the same thing here
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2012, 05:55 PM
kmoore134's Avatar
kmoore134 kmoore134 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 163 Times in 127 Posts
Default Why do you released PC-BSD 9.1?? its not ready!
Can you provide any other details? What type of disk options did you use
for installation? What other things do you have on these disk drives if
anything? ZFS or UFS?

FWIW, I haven't been able to reproduce this here...
__________________
----
Kris Moore
PC-BSD Founder
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kmoore134 For This Useful Post:
sg1efc (12-20-2012)
  #8  
Old 12-19-2012, 09:01 PM
habernir habernir is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default
i have HD WD10EARS 1TB

and i use entire disk option with ZFS (the installer choose this automatic) and the "basic" configuration options and thats its

i also delete all of the partitions in the HD before the installation .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2012, 09:25 PM
kmoore134's Avatar
kmoore134 kmoore134 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 163 Times in 127 Posts
Default Why do you released PC-BSD 9.1?? its not ready!
So the install completes properly, but then it hangs at the boot-loader?
Can you try installing GAG to see if its a bug in the MBR? What
motherboard is this on? Is the BIOS up to date?

http://gag.sourceforge.net/
__________________
----
Kris Moore
PC-BSD Founder
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kmoore134 For This Useful Post:
sg1efc (12-20-2012), tjl3 (12-22-2012)
  #10  
Old 12-20-2012, 02:29 AM
sg1efc sg1efc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Thanks: 449
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by kmoore134 View Post
So the install completes properly, but then it hangs at the boot-loader?
Can you try installing GAG to see if its a bug in the MBR? What
motherboard is this on? Is the BIOS up to date?

http://gag.sourceforge.net/
GAG? Another one I never knew about. You all certainly have tons of great knowledge, Thanks!
__________________
PC-BSD totally rocks! Thanks A Lot to everyone who has helped create and improve it.

http://www.nwbackup.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.