Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2005, 07:50 PM
as400 as400 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Setting up DHCP (DSL) Network on PCBSD?
Hello again -

This time I have a network setup question.

I have a DSL modem connection using a DHCP (automatic IP) and plus I have a Router...The question is, will PCBSD automatically will setup my DSL DHCP connection?

I used to run Linux, Solaris and during the installation of those, It ask me whether to choose DHCP or Static network...So I choose DHCP. And then Solaris automatically detected it..

Will PCBSD automatically configure the DHCP settings for me or will I have to configure it myself? If thats the case, then please explain where...

Thanks..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2005, 07:53 PM
pcbsdusr pcbsdusr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sesimbra-Portugal- EU
Posts: 1,617
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
PCBSD's default configuration is set to use DHCP.

You should be online as soon as you finish installing.

Dont forget to run the internet update feature as soon as you finish installing. There are two patches already since rc1's release.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2005, 07:55 PM
Charles Charles is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,710
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Yes, just follow the tutorial to set up your connection, and go to Computer > PC-BSD settings > Network Manager to set up your NIC as DHCP
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2006, 03:37 AM
richard.a richard.a is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to richard.a
Default
Suppose you want a fixed IP (eg if you are running a web server and have to open ports through your router/firewall)?

How can you configure it manually to do that? In the KDE for Linux there is a tab in the network settings. This seems missing in the PC-BSD version of KDE in both rc1 and rc2.
__________________
Have you noticed editing is always needed for the inevitable typos that weren't there when you hit the "post" button?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2006, 09:14 AM
richard.a richard.a is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to richard.a
Default
Okay, RC-2 has that missing tab in the Control Panel in there Go to Networking (where else?).

I'll leave the question and this answer in here to help another newbie out

Richard in Australia.
__________________
Have you noticed editing is always needed for the inevitable typos that weren't there when you hit the "post" button?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:35 PM
pcbsdusr pcbsdusr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sesimbra-Portugal- EU
Posts: 1,617
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
The network Manager is supposed to allow users to set fixed IP's as well.

For manually configure a network connection use Sysinstall.

Go to Konsole:

Su
pasword

sysinstall


It might be related but i have just discovered the network Manager gives wrong output to /etc/rc.conf for my Marvell Yukon gigabit nic making it not to work.

I am writing about this and the network manager's dev will have my data very soon.

Sysinstall is the only way to go right now i think until this gets fixed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up wireless network in PCBSD 8 shuts down system dali Usage Bug Reports (read-only) 1 03-01-2010 12:01 PM
network setting problems Sakurasukamori FreeBSD Help 19 10-22-2008 10:34 PM
Help setting up NFS on private network thenrie FreeBSD Help 2 04-13-2008 02:06 AM
[1.4 Beta] Network config setting bug hulleyrob General Bug Reports 0 07-29-2007 03:56 PM
setting up a 2 comp network brent1a Networking 2 02-28-2007 07:23 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.