Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2012, 04:24 AM
k3y k3y is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Updating From XTerm
Howdy Yall;
I have been a longtime user of *nix, and felt like taking a new path. So I decided to start with the easiest/most user friendly bsd around. No problems with the installation (took about 10mins for me). However I use to opening up the term (ctrl + alt + t), and just typing
Code:
sudo apt-get command
how can I do anything of the sorts from the command line. Any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2012, 06:18 AM
fluca1978 fluca1978 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 364
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 16 Posts
Default
Well, basic commands are of course pretty much the same.
For upgrading the system, it depends a little on how you are going to proceed. In generale the pc-* commands open/do PCBSD strictly related stuff, so I guess the right name for a full system upgrade is pc-updatemanager or something like that (I don't have a vm to test it right now). Then there is the ports tree, you should have a look at the FreeBSD handbook for that, but in short you cna upgrade using portmaster or tools alike. And then are packages (pkg_* commands) and PBIs (pbi-* commands).
Having a look at the handbook will make a few doubts disappear.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2012, 12:40 PM
k3y k3y is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Thank you; I used the pc-updater -Update and it returned no results so I am assuming that there are no updates currently

But I would really like to update my python to 3.2, is there anyway to specifically update one program?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2012, 06:34 AM
fluca1978 fluca1978 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 364
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 16 Posts
Default
If python has been installed from ports, then upgrading the ports tree and running a portmaster will upgrade your installation. If it has installed from packages, then you have to remove the package and install the new one. I guess it is the same for PBIs.
So the first thing to check is what version is available.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.