Old 12-02-2005, 01:30 PM

Default PC-BSD LINUX COMPATIBILITY LAYER
Hi guys
I'm just curious to know how many version of "Linux" compatibility layer exist for PC-BSD (Freebsd) and if exist a team that develop this layer!.

I'm interested in documentation too (only simply doc due that I'm a completely newbie) about the different release of the linux layer and about the fix.

Thanks in advance
Old 12-02-2005, 01:56 PM

I know crap-all about it, but here's something at least.

As far as I know there is
RedHat 7.3, 8 and 9 (linux_base is rh7.3, linux_base-8 is rh8)
Suse 9.1, 9.2, 9.3
Debian (some version, has it updated since release? :)
Gentoo (kinky image for building/emerging gentoo - not a release in itself)

So far, from my fun with getting UT2004 to execute I've found this:

rh 7 uses has no libgcc_s, and uses libc-2.2.5.so (old) and libstdc++ 2.7-2.9
rh8 uses libgcc_s-3.2-20020903.so.1, libc-2.3.2.so, and libstdc++.so.5.0.1

I "think" most errors starting newer linux programs will occur here: libstdc++.so.5 -> libstdc++.so.5.0.1

see below

The -> sign means "is link to"

rh8
/usr/lib
libstdc++.so.5 -> libstdc++.so.5.0.1 (this is the BIG one missing in RH7)
libstdc++.so.2.7.2 -> libstdc++.so.2.7.2.8
libstdc++.so.2.8 -> libstdc++.so.2.8.0
libstdc++.so.2.9 -> libstdc++.so.2.9.dummy
libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2 -> libstdc++-2-libc6.1-1-2.9.0.so

/lib
libgcc_s.so.1 -> libgcc_s-3.2-20020903.so.1
libc.so.6 -> libc-2.3.2.so

rh7
/usr/lib
libstdc++.so.2.7.2 -> libstdc++.so.2.7.2.8
libstdc++.so.2.8 -> libstdc++.so.2.8.0
libstdc++.so.2.9 -> libstdc++.so.2.9.dummy
libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2 -> libstdc++-2-libc6.1-1-2.9.0.so
libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3 -> libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so

/lib
libgcc_s.so.1 -> Not exist in rh7?
libc.so.6 -> libc-2.2.5.so

Not much help, but it's a start: )
Old 12-02-2005, 05:25 PM

Here are some more oddities.

PC-BSD rc1 uses RH7