Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2012, 03:56 AM
pbu pbu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 66
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Default Browser
PC-BSDer's

getting ready for my big LinuxCNC/EMC2 adventure!

what is the browser that i have now?

is it a good one to download source code?

or should i put in Firefox, which is rock solid?

Have A Nice Day!
__________________
PC-BSD Hubble 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2012, 05:25 AM
pbu pbu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 66
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thumbs up
pc-bsder's

this post is coming to you

from pc-bsd and konqueror.

1 booting up in pc bsd seems to 'throw on' num lock.

2 right now when i hit 'caps lock'

i get 'numbers and letters' all over this browser screen.

have a nice day
__________________
PC-BSD Hubble 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:37 AM
Ole Juul Ole Juul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Coalmont, BC, Canada
Posts: 284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
I'm not sure if you're asking questions or telling what you did.

However, regarding browsers, I usually install all the ones I come across. I don't need to use any one exclusively, but find that it is practical to leave 4 or 5 of them open at all times. They all have their strong points. Using the same one all the time serves no practical purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2012, 09:13 AM
Marco Marco is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Germany BW-Stuttgart
Posts: 241
Thanks: 28
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default
The caps lock thingy can be set in the bios functions
Take a look in the manual of your motherboard.

If you are on a adventure you can take a look here ...

Chromium & Firefox @ freshports.org

Maybe Firefox has the better integration into KDE

Last edited by Marco; 03-28-2012 at 09:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2012, 04:41 AM
pbu pbu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 66
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default
PC-BSDer's

i will work with this PC-BSD installlation and

Konqueror for a little bit.

what web browser is included with PC-BSD 9?

Have A Nice Day!
__________________
PC-BSD Hubble 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2012, 11:33 AM
Beanpole's Avatar
Beanpole Beanpole is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,396
Thanks: 8
Thanked 387 Times in 323 Posts
Default
PC-BSD does not really have an "included" web browser. Each of the available desktop environments could or could not have an included web browser (for instance: KDE uses Konqueror, Gnome uses Epiphany, etc...). The PC-BSD Team does not make a "favorite" choice for the OS, we just make as many PBI's available so that the user can choose what fits his/her needs.

These web browser PBI's are generally available under the "Web" category and include: Firefox, Chromium, Opera, Epiphany, Dillow, Arora, Midori, Lynx, NetSurf, rekonq, SeaMonkey, XXXTerm, and probably a couple others I missed....
You can just read through the descriptions of them and choose any/all that you wish to install and try them out. Because of the way PBI's work you can always just remove any program that you do not like at a later without any downsides at all.
__________________
~ Ken Moore ~
PC-BSD/iXsystems
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2012, 05:12 AM
pbu pbu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 66
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default
mr moore

i'm pretty sure i went with defaults

when installing.

right now i need to enjoy the thrills and

excitement of changing video driver and setting time.

screen looks a little fuzzy and it keeps changing

PC clock an hour so when i go back to Win7

i'm an hour off!

Have A Nice Day!
__________________
PC-BSD Hubble 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2012, 07:15 PM
Weixiong Weixiong is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default
Firefox will be your best bet IMO. Dillo doesn't support JavaScript, or HTTPS depending on how you compile it.

I've been using Dillo, Konqueror, Epiphany and Opera and like Firefox best. Seamonkey, it's sibling, is a little lighter and isn't bad either.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2012, 10:47 PM
pbu pbu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 66
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default
weixiong

i set the time in PC-BSD and that worked.

when i came back to Win7 it hadn't jumped an hour.

i use Firefox and have used it for a long time.

i will change PC-BSD to Firefox.

Have A Nice Day!
__________________
PC-BSD Hubble 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-2012, 12:48 AM
Ole Juul Ole Juul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Coalmont, BC, Canada
Posts: 284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by pbu View Post
when i came back to Win7 it hadn't jumped an hour.
A computer has two clocks. One for the hardware and one for the OS which is referred to as the software clock. If you go into the BIOS, you will see the hardware time. On a *nix system that is usually set to UTC. The operating system then uses whatever offset from that which you chose - usually to match your time zone. In this case you had set the software clock in PC-BSD, but that is independent of Win7 which continued with the offset that it had before.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.