Old 01-24-2012, 04:15 PM

Default Issues with PC-BSD 9 on a laptop.
I figured I would start a new thread as opposed to lengthening my active thread on KDE.

I'm new to the BSD flavor of OSes. I migrated from MINT Linux to BSD for a couple reasons, mainly to try something I haven't tried before (BSD) and to -hopefully- create a rock solid system designed for performance and security. I really wanted to test out the full disk encryption, too.

Installation from DVD took fo-rev-er. It was late, I gave myself a couple hours to do this, but after a couple hours I just fell asleep when the progress was about 30% or so. I woke up to an installed system.

Problems I have encountered thus far:
  • KDE Performance
  • No touchpad support by default
  • Sound only when using headphones / external speakers
  • Bad Laptop Support

I'll elaborate on all of these in more detail:

KDE Performance
I was told that KDE is the go-to desktop manager for BSD. Something about how they ported KDE to BSD or whatever, was done with more care and preciseness than Gnome. (Or something). KDE performance (so far) has been horrible. Right off the bat, rocking a fresh install, I log into KDE for the first time and it is using 1.1GB of RAM whereas Gnome or XFCE use 250-350MB at startup depending on what programs I have startup. I've since been linked to articles on how to get KDE to perform better, but before I had a chance I encountered further issues that made me just kind of not want to use KDE again (I was never a fan of it in the past).

Other issues with KDE that I have not experienced in other desktops include the mouse pointer freezing, only to be unlocked by me hitting the spacebar (or maybe any other key, but I always hit the spacebar to unlock it). After that, the mouse cursor just kind of... "does it's own thing". I can't control it, but it just kind of drifts around the screen ignoring any human input. Hard reboot.

Touchpad Issues