Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2011, 04:22 PM
Linuxis Linuxis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default Vidalia Onion Router Isn't Opening
I installed Vidalia from Appcafe and tried opening it. Nothing happened.
I tried opening Tor from terminal and it said that it opened successfully however Vidalia absolutely will not open.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2011, 09:06 AM
bgalakazam bgalakazam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: California, USA
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
That is because it is looking for
Code:
/usr/pbi/tor-amd64/.sbin/vidalia
which doesn't exist. I think the desktop shortcut may have been forgotten from a previous version. The PBI itself just says "Tor" and nothing about Vidalia.

Perhaps someone can look into it and:
a) remove the unused Vidalia desktop shortcut
b) add Vidalia to the Tor PBI

You can also use the TorK PBI, I have tested it and it works.

Hope that clears things up.

Tested:
PC-BSD 9.0-RC2 AMD64
Tor 0.2.2.34 PBI

Last edited by bgalakazam; 12-05-2011 at 09:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2011, 05:06 PM
bgalakazam bgalakazam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: California, USA
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
I have resolved the issue with the Tor PBI and Vidalia. You need to rename the desktop shortcut to point to:
Code:
/usr/pbi/tor-amd64/bin/vidalia
Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2011, 09:49 PM
Linuxis Linuxis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by bgalakazam View Post
I have resolved the issue with the Tor PBI and Vidalia. You need to rename the desktop shortcut to point to:
Code:
/usr/pbi/tor-amd64/bin/vidalia
Cheers.
Thank you!

I hope future versions of Vidalia will work right away.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2011, 01:01 AM
bgalakazam bgalakazam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: California, USA
Posts: 136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Kris said it's already fixed in the SVN. Only a matter of time now
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.