Old 10-17-2011, 10:51 PM

Default UFS vs ZFS
I'm still relatively new to BSD, I've only used it two times and that's the Beta3 of PCBSD. I had to use UFS for the install because my older machine has a mere one gig on it and I was simulating that in vmware. However I only picked UFS because ZFS is recommended for 4 gigs of ram.

All and all I didn't see much difference between UFS and EXT3/4. I'd like to try ZFS because everyone keeps harping about it, but I'm frightened to install it on low ram.

Someone explain the pros and cons of UFS and ZFS. What is the main difference here? What am I missing?
Old 10-17-2011, 11:34 PM

For a home machine, especially one with low RAM, there really isn't a strong reason to install ZFS. The ZFS file system is ideal for places where a lot of data will be used (a lot in this case meaning multiple terabytes), probably across multiple hard disks.
The one area where ZFS would be good for home use is with file system snapshots, which works similar to Windows Shadow Copy or OS X Time Machine. However, if you have a good backup procedure in place, ZFS for home boxes becomes a bit redundant.

As you noticed, UFS is pretty similar to ext3 on Linux. UFS is a solid, dependable file system without many special features or overhead. It's probably the best file system for low-end machines or home users who don't need massive amounts of storage.

I'm over simplifying a bit, but unless you have a need for large amounts of data or regular snapshots, stick with UFS. It's mature, reliable technology and uses fewer resources.
Old 10-18-2011, 12:06 AM

I picked ZFS, my machine is 4GB RAM, AMD64 and a 1TB HDD. RAM gets filled up past 2GB easily and this is partly due to ZFS. I am not sure if I really need it since 1TB is not that much, but it's nice have the ZFS layout.
Old 10-18-2011, 05:44 AM

I've got an OpenIndiana box here with two 2TB hdds, they are mirrored together with ZFS and have snapshotting enabled.