Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2011, 08:39 AM
sharris sharris is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 158
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default hald causing VirtualBox mouse problems ...
May I as one final question to complete my setup of 8.2 that will hold me down for a while. I have Win-95 to Win-7 installed on slice [g] for VirtualBox 4.0.6 and everything works perfectly as long as I have hald_enabled="YES".

I don't like hald because it included all of my partitions inside PcBSD. If I want something to show I would mount it and want to keep my other partitions hidden from the systems for whatever reasons.

Problem is when I disable hald, Windows-7 can't find a mouse so I have to crash VirtualBox by rebooting at the terminal just to close it. Now I got to run fsck each time I do that when I try to try something new.

I once had two of them hook up. The PS2 standard plug type and a USB mouse and Windows-7 found both of them with hald disabled the first time but after a clean reboot it never could find either one of them again no matter how many times I tried to duplicate the first action that made it all happen. Is there an easy solution to this problem to help Windows find his mouse with-out hald.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2011, 02:28 AM
sharris sharris is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 158
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default
I'm running PcBSD-8.2-AMD-64 and I use GNOME. All of these windows work for VirtualBox 4.0.6 no matter what I throw at it (rapid anything):

Windows 95
Windows 98
Windows XP sp2
Windows XP sp3
Windows Vista Business-32
Windows 7 [32]

But Windows-7 [64] will not work. WHY?

It crash when it's time to click [Capture] mouse. WHY?

When I set Enable absolute pointing device, Windows 7 [64] will boot to a black-screen and hang forever. WHY?

It may sometime let the mouse in at safe-mode than when I boot to real-mode it let the mouse in for three seconds to a minute and than crash. Why?


I forgot what version of VirtualBox that came around with with PcBSD 8.1-AMD-64 beta last year but I can tell you with confidence that baby worked like a charm for ALL these versions of Windows, including Windows-7 [64] ... So what happen???

Is it the PBI or is it VirtualBox 4.0.6? I have 15 amd-64.pbi installed on my AMD machine and they all work perfectly, but not VirtualBox 4.0.6 for Windows 7 [64]. WHY?


Btw: These are the results with hald_enabled="YES" and everything else intact straight out the PcBSD box. ... Also the 2 mouse hook-up I had stop working the third time around and that was strange.

Last edited by sharris; 06-27-2011 at 06:40 AM. Reason: why should i cry :(
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2011, 05:35 AM
sharris sharris is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 158
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default
I tired of guesting. I'm going on vacation to Daisy World. Maybe this could have something to do with it down the line.

http://freebsd.1045724.n5.nabble.com...td4098390.html


http://lists.freebsd.org/pipermail/f...er/025021.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2011, 06:07 AM
sharris sharris is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 158
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default
Maybe it's GNOME... where can I find GNOME-2.28.2 PBI or the last year GNOME.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.