Old 03-05-2011, 08:10 PM

Angry Serious problems with PCBSD 8.2 installations
Hi,

I am new to the world of BSDs though have been aware of their existence since quite some time. Anyways, with 8.2 release and having read a lot of good reviews about PC-BSD, I thought of giving it a spin; first under VirtualBox then later with my laptop. Things did not go well, unfortunately; in fact, they got really bad.

First things first - here are the specs of my laptop:
HP HDX16T CTO 1200
Intel Core 2 Duo P7550 2.26GHz
4 GB DDR2 SDRAM
500 GB SATA HDD (Seagate Momentus 7200.4)
BD-ROM drive (Optiarc)
16" Infinity (1920*1080) Widescreen display
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1

Here are my attempts at installation along with their outcomes:

1. The very first time, I didn't have a DVDR to burn so I tried booting from the iso using GRUB2's loop interface. The system would indeed be able to boot from the ISO but the boot process will fail after the installer tries to locate the installation archive in /dev/cd0 (after the message "..waiting 10 seconds to allow devices to settle").

2. After the previous attempts to get the installer running of the ISO image failed, I burned the ISO to a DVD+R and booted from it. I tried out the live mode first; the system froze as soon as I double-clicked "Install PC-BSD". I rebooted and went straight ahead with the installer.

At the time, I had 3 partitions on my laptop drive viz. Windows 7 installation - labelled C:, an empty NTFS partition D: (which I generated by shrinking the C: drive under windows) and the recovery partition (for the factory installed Vista). During the installation I selected D: (or da0s2 in BSD lingo), PC-BSD bootloader and selected the default Auto Partition option.