Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2011, 07:03 AM
newtobsd newtobsd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help! Install "Drivers"
I will try to make this brief.

--

BACKGROUND

I have some basic experience with Linux.
Completely new to BSD.
I know what Terminal is.
I know what a superuser is.

OS is PCBSD 8.1
PCBSD is installed and installed correctly
MD5 was verified before installing

Laptop is Dell M5010
8GB DDR3 RAM
500GB HDD, properly partitioned.
Triple-core AMD Phenom II N850

Wireless card is DW1501 Wireless-N
Graphics card is ATI Radeon HD 4200

--

ISSUE

Need to install wireless driver; found wireless driver here:
http://www.broadcom.com/support/802.11/linux_sta.php

I am aware it is not actually called a "driver".

I need a step-by-step how to install this package.
I don't have time to learn the whole OS at once, else I would have installed FreeBSD.
I need a quick fix.

Please help.

--

NOTES:

I tried to navigate (within Terminal using the "cd" command) to where I had copied .tar.gz package I downloaded, but I here is what happened:
cd /usr
that works
cd /home
that works
cd /Charles
which is my username, it does not work! Says the "Directory does not exist". But in Dolphin, I am LOOKING AT IT!! YES IT DOES EXIST!! WHAT THE HELL!!!

Anyways please tell me how to get the wireless working. The operating system is USELESS to me without the internet! And without the internet I cannot update any packages!!!

Please help!

APPRECIATE ALL HELP!

--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Okay, so here is what I have done so far:

Connected ethernet to router, and:

i) Upgraded my ports (successfully) using the portsnap method

ii) Updated the drivers

iii) Learned that if the wireless card is detected, it should say eth0 for ethernet and wlan0 for wireless

iv) attempted to manually configure my wireless device, by going to /boot/loader.conf, opening it to "edit as root", and added the following lines:

# Add Wireless
wlan_wep_load="YES"
wlan_ccmp_load="YES"
wlan_tkip_load="YES"

# Firmware code (not sure if it is valid for my own, copied this from somewhere)
bwn_v4_ucode_load="YES"
if_bwn_load="YES"

# First Wireless Device
wlans_bwn0="wlan0"

# To Acquire IP Address
ifconfig_wlan0="DHCP"


-----

However, after reboot it still only shows "eth0" in network settings, so it does not see my wireless card.

Please help. Thank you!

Last edited by newtobsd; 01-22-2011 at 10:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2011, 07:38 AM
Ole Juul Ole Juul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Coalmont, BC, Canada
Posts: 284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Quote:
cd /Charles
which is my username, it does not work! Says the "Directory does not exist"

Could the directory be with a small "c"?

Code:
ls /usr/home
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2011, 07:58 AM
Ole Juul Ole Juul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Coalmont, BC, Canada
Posts: 284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Sorry newtobsd, I forgot to say welcome!

Anyway, it occurred to me that I actually knew something related to your main question. Just a few posts earlier someone asked about the driver to which you linked. That driver is for Linux.

Look here: http://forums.pcbsd.org/showthread.php?t=14093
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2011, 05:07 PM
newtobsd newtobsd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
as for using a small "c", of course I tried that, no it did not work. THank you for the suggestion though...

--

as for it being a linux driver - from my understanding that is not correct.
It is a universal compilation which includes all OS drivers including BSD

Anyways, my problem has not even approached whether or not is is the correct driver.

I still need to know how to access a directory in the desktop using Terminal

Appreciate all your help, thanks; I will wait for your reply.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2011, 05:19 PM
newtobsd newtobsd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Also, the driver you say is for linux is not even the same hardware, computer, or driver that I listed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2011, 05:35 PM
newtobsd newtobsd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Please help. Bump.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2011, 09:32 PM
Ole Juul Ole Juul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Coalmont, BC, Canada
Posts: 284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by newtobsd View Post
Also, the driver you say is for linux is not even the same hardware, computer, or driver that I listed.
I don't know what chip you have. You provided a link to the drivers, I didn't. The forum link is talking about BCM43225 which is in the same series you suggested.

The computer is irrelevant. What is of importance here is the chipset which is providing the wireless functionality.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2011, 09:56 PM
Ole Juul Ole Juul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Coalmont, BC, Canada
Posts: 284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by newtobsd View Post
as for using a small "c", of course I tried that, no it did not work. THank you for the suggestion though...

I don't know if it's possible, but perhaps you didn't make a user account when you did the installation. You didn't give the output of "ls /usr/home". Did you look at it? Whatever it says there is what you've got. If "Charles" isn't there, you can make an account with that name, and it will be.

Quote:
as for it being a linux driver - from my understanding that is not correct.
It is a universal compilation which includes all OS drivers including BSD

I just read what it said on the page. No doubt there is more to know.


Quote:
Anyways, my problem has not even approached whether or not is is the correct driver.

I still need to know how to access a directory in the desktop using Terminal

A normal installation of PC-BSD 8.1 uses KDE 4.4.5. This is a little different from KDE 3.* and other desktop concepts. Actually, it's very different - I find it a little confusing, but it all makes sense when you get the hang of it. The "Desktop" directory is in the user's home directory.

To get there:
Code:
cd /usr/home/user/Desktop
Substitute whatever account name for "user". It sounds like you need to sort out your user account first though.

Quote:
Appreciate all your help, thanks; I will wait for your reply.

You're welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2011, 09:57 PM
newtobsd newtobsd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Okay, so here is what I have done so far:

Connected ethernet to router, and:

i) Upgraded my ports (successfully) using the portsnap method

ii) Updated the drivers

iii) Learned that if the wireless card is detected, it should say eth0 for ethernet and wlan0 for wireless

iv) attempted to manually configure my wireless device, by going to /boot/loader.conf, opening it to "edit as root", and added the following lines:

# Add Wireless
wlan_wep_load="YES"
wlan_ccmp_load="YES"
wlan_tkip_load="YES"

# Firmware code (not sure if it is valid for my own, copied this from somewhere)
bwn_v4_ucode_load="YES"
if_bwn_load="YES"

# First Wireless Device
wlans_bwn0="wlan0"

# To Acquire IP Address
ifconfig_wlan0="DHCP"


--------------

still in the network settings, only "eth0" shows, so it does not see my wireless card?

Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-22-2011, 10:04 PM
Ole Juul Ole Juul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Coalmont, BC, Canada
Posts: 284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by newtobsd View Post
. . . still in the network settings, only "eth0" shows, so it does not see my wireless card?

I have not tried setting up wireless in either FreeBSD or PC-BSD yet, but It looks like you're on the right track.

Are the any hints in the output of "ifconfig -a" ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.