Old 01-07-2011, 12:45 AM

Default Help: How to Set-up FTP server on PCBSD
Hi guys

Can you help me setting up an FTP server? , Im a Newbie on PCBSD and I would like to set-up an FTP server, Can you give me a Step by Step process on how to set-up?

btw.. Im a windows User ,Im a complete noob on PCBSD.

thanks.
Old 01-07-2011, 05:21 AM

I'm a complete newbie as well, but I've never used Windows. I was just looking for proftpd which is one of the standard ones in the *nix world and it seems that there is no such thing here, although I don't really believe that could be true. It's probably just my ignorance. Surely the FreeBSD port will work.

However, it might not matter that much, because for a desktop machine the single FTP server which is offered in the pbiDIR is probably just fine. It is called Bftpd and they claim it is easy to set up - though nothing could be easier than proftpd which has a single config file in the style of apache and has such a wide user base that any question can be answered with a quick Google. Anyway, I'm going to give Bftpd a try.
Old 01-07-2011, 07:09 AM

I've already installed bftpd 3.0 my problem is I dont know where to find that and how to execute it.
Old 01-07-2011, 08:11 AM

Originally Posted by bawbaw View Post
I've already installed bftpd 3.0 my problem is I dont know where to find that and how to execute it.
I see. Well, it seems like you and I are on the same page right now. I installed it right now and rebooted to make sure the network was restarted and anything else which should be happening automatically. Mine did not work either.

There is something odd about the way PC-BSD does networking I think. I have FTP servers on Ubuntu Server, Kubuntu, and Debian running right now and they all worked out of the box. I have also had proftpd running on two of my FreeBSD machines without problem. I hope somebody who knows the quirks of PC-BSD answers soon.
Old 01-07-2011, 12:58 PM