Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-15-2011, 08:25 AM
Alcide Alcide is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default installing Ralink RT2860
Hej Thulemand

I know that this thread is somewhat lifeless, but I should tell you that I have RT2860 driving my RT2790 based card. This should also work for your card too, as RT2860 is a catch-all for this series from Ralink.

check http://www.ralinktech.com/support.php?s=2
To see which group your chipset falls under.

Here's how I did it:

I installed git in my ports: /usr/ports/devel/git

Now I collected the rt2860 driver from a czech site into my user directory:

Code:
~/construction/ralink% git clone git://repo.or.cz/ralink_drivers/rt2860.freebsd8.git
The this will create a directory called rt2860_freebsd8, that I changed to... and created the module.

Code:
% cd rt2860_freebsd8
% make
% su -
...
# cp (path to module)/rt2860_freebsd8/rt2860.ko /boot/modules
# chmod 555 /boot/modules/rt2860.ko
The next step is to edit the /boot/loader.conf file by adding this line:
rt2860_load="YES"

Quote:
# Load Wireless Support
rt2860_load="YES"
I tried to run this command:

Code:
# ifconfig wlan0 create wlandev rt28600
but it borked with some complaint: ifconfig: SIOCIFCREATE2: Invalid argument.

I rebooted regardless. And yet again there was still no life in the wifi driver.
but running ifconfig -a disclosed that there was now a rt28600 device and a wlan0 device as well.

Also this command pciconf (the same as lspci in Linux, but more detailed)

Code:
[root@tesla] ~# pciconf -lvcb

(...)
bge0@pci0:4:0:0:        class=0x020000 card=0x002614c0 chip=0x171314e4 rev=0x02 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Broadcom Corporation'
    device     = 'Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet (BCM5906m)'
    class      = network
    subclass   = ethernet
    bar   [10] = type Memory, range 64, base 0xf0000000, size 65536, enabled
    cap 01[48] = powerspec 3  supports D0 D3  current D0
    cap 03[50] = VPD
    cap 09[58] = vendor (length 120)
    cap 05[e8] = MSI supports 1 message, 64 bit enabled with 1 message
    cap 10[d0] = PCI-Express 1 endpoint max data 128(128) link x1(x1)
ecap 0001[100] = AER 1 0 fatal 1 non-fatal 1 corrected
ecap 0002[13c] = VC 1 max VC0
ecap 0003[160] = Serial 1 001b38fffed05038
rt28600@pci0:12:0:0:    class=0x028000 card=0x27901814 chip=0x07811814 rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Ralink Technology, Corp.'
    device     = 'Wireless (RT2860/RT2890)'
    class      = network
    bar   [10] = type Memory, range 32, base 0xf8200000, size 65536, enabled
    cap 01[40] = powerspec 2  supports D0 D3  current D0
    cap 05[50] = MSI supports 32 messages, 64 bit 
    cap 10[70] = PCI-Express 1 endpoint max data 128(128) link x1(x1)
ecap 0001[100] = AER 1 0 fatal 1 non-fatal 1 corrected

(...)
so it showed up. However, still no life in it. But:

Code:
#ifconfig rt28600 down
#ifconfig rt28600 up
...waked my driver up. And it works fine.

Then in system settings I could zero in on my home network and saved it as a profile.

I should mention that I had seen some conflicting information about the placement of this driver. Some say /boot/modules, others say it should be in /boot/kernel along with its .ko.symbols file. So none the less just to be on the safe side, I placed the rt2860.ko and rt2860.ko.symbols in /boot/kernel.
Perhaps a helpful reader could shed some light on why there is a discrepency and which is the correct directory for these modules.

Thulemand, I hope you get your eeepc's wireless up and on the net with this info.
Good luck.

alcide

please check these as references to how I discovered the mentioned procedure:

http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=7010
http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=13749
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-15-2011, 09:45 AM
Thulemanden Thulemanden is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 329
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Thanks Alcide - now I have something to work on :-)
__________________
“Computers are useless. They can only give you answers.”
~ Pablo Picasso
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-22-2011, 06:35 AM
IslandWolf IslandWolf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question No Carrier
I followed the steps in this post with the exception that I had to download the file into a Windows folder and then access it from within PC-BSD because the ASUS PCE-N13 wireless NIC isn't working for me yet in PC-BSD 8.2. Then I performed tar -xzvf on it.

Now my PC-BSD OS sees the NIC as an RT28600 device, but the ipconfig -a command returns "No carrier" as part of the information it provides. Has anyone encountered this before? If so, what can I do to turn on the radio on this card? Like I said, it works just great with my MS Windows 7 Professional 64Bit installation on this home-built machine.

My search for posts on this "No carrier" condition returned no usable results.

The file names for the Windows driver for this card are not those mentioned in an earlier post. There are no .INF files. There are "netr28x.sys", "RaCoInst.dat", and "RaCoInstx.dll". So I would not know how to use NDIS to make them work with my installation of PC-BSD 8.2. Besides, Alcide's instructions seem to have gotten the card seen and accessed. I just need to know how to establish a carrier.

The wireless router to which I am seeking to connect is in another room across the house, so connectivity with an Ethernet cable is out of the question for everyday use. And since the card works with Windows, I am convinced the problem is with PC-BSD's configuration on my computer and not with the card itself.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Richard McCord

Last edited by IslandWolf; 10-22-2011 at 01:01 PM. Reason: added clarification
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-25-2011, 12:43 AM
IslandWolf IslandWolf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Problem solved using information from another forum (it was pretty much just a matter of doing things a wee bit differently).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-04-2012, 10:05 PM
Alcide Alcide is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Howdy Islandwolf

I'm glad the post helped you. I'm sorry I didn't see your message until today. Regardless, it sounds as if you were working within a windows environment, trying to get the Ralink drivers for NDIS conversions. I have never owned a computer where I used ms windows, my only hacking experiences are with "UNIX-like" OS's (IRIX - OSX - OpenSolaris - but mainly a belly full of Linux based distros) so I couldn't help you there.

However, I encourage you to fill in the missing blanks in your last post: What did you do differently?

With version 9 out on the mirrors, perhaps this driver situation is solved with built-in modules.
If so, I hope someone would add that as a comment to this thread too.

Cheers!
Alcide
__________________
Goodbye for now.
Alcide
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
“We become what we behold. We shape our tools and then our tools shape us.”
--Marshall McLuhan
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-13-2012, 05:40 AM
someitalian123 someitalian123 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Hopefully this driver will gain support for cards using the rt3062 chipset in the future. it isn't working with my card in version 9. I ended up having to use the ndis driver which has some serious issues as well, but at least it has some functionality.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-19-2012, 07:36 PM
IslandWolf IslandWolf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Well ... actually, it turned into nightmare central, so much so that I just threw my hands up and went back to Linux Mint 12/Cinnamon. So relating how I got the NIC to work temporarily would not be useful, imo. The good news is that I've got the "I just HAVE to use UNIX!" bug again, so I'm going to toss the wireless card, enable the on-board NIC, and buy a CAT-5e cable long enough to get me to the switch 40' away, which attaches to my router through a wall.

So STAND BACK! I'm a'goin' in!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
driver, ralink rt2860, wireless

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.