Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2010, 11:46 PM
redshirt redshirt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default installing to the warden; adding inmates
Anyone found a good guide to this?

Can I create an amp jail w/ myphpadmin (?) from a jail with ports?

I will try it regardless but will appreciate any preemptive suggestions.

-r

PS: I am noticing that there is not a clear cut place to request information regarding The Warden, or ask questions regarding software in general.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2010, 01:10 AM
Fatmice Fatmice is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: US
Posts: 888
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: installing to the warden; adding inmates
Originally Posted by redshirt
Anyone found a good guide to this?

Can I create an amp jail w/ myphpadmin (?) from a jail with ports?
Never tried but google told me there are many guides on getting apache, php, and mysql into a jail. Phpmyadmin should haven't a problem cohabitate in such a jail.
__________________
|================================================= =====|
|Please search the forum prior to posting. Intellectual laziness is not nice. | (Does not apply to non-offenders =))
|================================================= =====|
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2010, 03:59 PM
redshirt redshirt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: installing to the warden; adding inmates
It's definitely frustrating. There is not even a single howto explanation of how to get into the jail to do installs from within the jail. There is mention of ssh, but it has to be first enabled in the jail. (One howto says, "If you enabled ssh in the jail..." ; um what about how to do that!?) Apparently this is one of the jail commands to start a process in the jail from outside the jail ... to the man page!

(I much rather muck around in the jail where I am less likely to mess up my system.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2010, 08:13 PM
redshirt redshirt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: installing to the warden; adding inmates
Is The Warden implementation of jails non-standard (other than directory)?

jexec and jail programs do not know what Warden did. Neither can find the testjail I created with Warden, even using the explicit directory path.

-r
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2010, 02:37 AM
Fatmice Fatmice is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: US
Posts: 888
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: installing to the warden; adding inmates
Well, have you ever created a jail?

If you haven't, then it would benefit you to read this, and this.

Article on ezjail.


A nifty howto on upgrading jails...just really the barebones.
__________________
|================================================= =====|
|Please search the forum prior to posting. Intellectual laziness is not nice. | (Does not apply to non-offenders =))
|================================================= =====|
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2010, 11:44 PM
redshirt redshirt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: installing to the warden; adding inmates
Must be missing something. The O'reilly article is the one that says, if you set up sshd... and the other I looked at in length and it is written for someone starting with the routine jail commands.

I'm wondering whether or not The Warden generates standard jails. The jail commands do not seem to work as they are unaware of the warden jail. That is, I cannot enter the jail and check things out.

I will abandon The Warden for now and check out ezjail.

-r
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-02-2010, 11:58 AM
Fatmice Fatmice is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: US
Posts: 888
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: installing to the warden; adding inmates
Originally Posted by redshirt
I'm wondering whether or not The Warden generates standard jails. The jail commands do not seem to work as they are unaware of the warden jail. That is, I cannot enter the jail and check things out.

I will abandon The Warden for now and check out ezjail.

-r
Sounds like a good strategy.

I will chime in and say that it seems to me the warden does make jail, but in a nonstandard way.

I urge you to join the warden's list serve if you want more support on it.
__________________
|================================================= =====|
|Please search the forum prior to posting. Intellectual laziness is not nice. | (Does not apply to non-offenders =))
|================================================= =====|
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-12-2010, 07:12 PM
wanderson wanderson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: installing to the warden; adding inmates
I too have had problems configuring MySQL in the AMP jail with "separate" ports installation of PhpMySQLAdmin.

I would recommend that we advise the pbi Team to include phpmysqladmin in the AMP Inmate configuration, that will better guarantee tool success.

If by circumstance you are seeking to install a Web Content management System (CMS) software like MODx or Silverstripe, then these Web site applications have internal scripts that will modify the MySQL setting/setup for you.

Otherwise, for Drupal, Concrete5 and others, you need the phpMySQLAdmin installed and working correctly as part of the AMP Inmate.

Good luck.

Wendell Anderson
wanderson@kimalcorp.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot install the warden pbi gwood PBI Discussion 1 04-06-2010 04:14 PM
Warden ethernet change problem InamurRahman General Questions 0 10-05-2009 06:03 AM
[ok] 1.1: adding languages pcandpc General Questions 10 11-06-2008 03:21 AM
The Warden L8knight PBI Discussion 0 07-24-2008 10:13 AM
Adding to PAMP jdarnold PBI Discussion 0 09-26-2006 09:49 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.