Old 02-12-2010, 05:13 PM

Default PC-BSD+Virtual Box on OSX Install Issues
Hi-

I'm new to PC-BSD slowly transitioning over from OSX. I've tried to run either PC-PSD 8.0 RC2 or 7.1.1 in Virtual Box (3.1.2) under MacOSX to give it a good test drive but I can't get either to install and I'm not sure how to proceed.

I can get through set up and PC-BSD starts to install but the progress bar usually stops and the install reboots to the initial PC-BSD boot screen. I can however run PC-BSD if I choose to use it live.

If I watch the install screen closely, there is some early error message before the progress bar gets to 1% on the install, but I don't what it is or if it significant. The install usually fails at 4% but sometimes gets to 15% before the automatic reboot.

From what I can tell people can get PC-BSD to run in Virtual Box, but I'm not sure whether this under WIndows, Linux or OSx.

Any advice on getting this running/troubleshooting would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.
Old 02-15-2010, 10:12 AM

Default Re: PC-BSD+Virtual Box on OSX Install Issues
I don’t know if 7.x works in VirtualBox. Proper VirtualBox support in FreeBSD is a new development.

For the best info I know of on VirtualBox see:
http://wiki.freebsd.org/VirtualBox

You can also follow a long discussion on the mailing lists about VirtualBox.
http://lists.pcbsd.org/pipermail/testin ... 03642.html

I personally have never tried any BSD in VirtualBox yet.
Old 02-17-2010, 01:40 AM

After skimming the mentioned sites, as far as I can tell, it looks like PC-BSD currently does not run in Virtual Box under MacOSX, at least for a person with little BSD experience, and can only be run in live mode.

That's unfortunate. I hope this can be easily fixed in the near future by either the PC-BSD, FreeBSD or Virtual Box people.

Thank you and I will continue to follow from the BSD sidelines until the situation changes or I buy a new computer.
Old 02-17-2010, 06:07 AM