Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2009, 10:38 PM
Sonic Sonic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default very high cpu load while idle
hello all.
i have the following problem: i installed pcbsd. installation went fine so far. i can boot and all looks fine, but when i start the system-monitor i see a cpu total load ranging from 20% to 60% while idle. the cpu load is inconstant all the time. when i look at the list of processes, i can see that kded4 and xorg are using most of the cpu. sometimes the one uses more, and sometimes the other. i'm not absolutely sure, but if i remember right the cpu usage of kded4 added to the cpu usage of xorg and the other processes aren't as much % as shown under the cpu total load, but i'm not sure about that.
i installed desktopbsd just for comparison. under desktop bsd i have a constant cpu load of under 10% while idle.
i don't want to use desktopbsd because they stopped the development, so i tried pcbsd, but i have no idea why i have such a high cpu load.
can someone help me?

i have this problem with my notebook (HP550). as cpu i use an intel celeron 550 (2.0GHz). the notebook is equipped with 2GB RAM and has an intel onboard graphics card. i used the actual version of pcbsd (64bit) and i didn't update anything. i'm downloading the 32bit version right now, i will tell you if the problem will also exist with that one.

(ps: sorry for my bad english, i hope you understand me ;-))

-Sonic

EDIT: the problem still exists under the 32bit version. it really drives me crazy, because i want to use pcbsd so if anyone has an idea it would be nice if you tell me :wink:
i also have another problem which is described HERE and HERE. i had to install pcbsd without changing the partitions to get it installed. i wanted to make the swap-partition bigger, so is there a way to change the size of the swap partition after installation?
  #2  
Old 11-19-2009, 12:59 PM
Sonic Sonic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: very high cpu load while idle
now i installed kde3 as pbi to compare the performance deifference between kde4 and kde3 but i have also a problem there. when is start the kde system guard i get an error message: "Connection to localhost has been lost". so i do not get any informations to compare. is there a way to solve that? or did i do something wrong? i installed it to the location which is set as standard...
i'm also able to choose english as the only language for kde3, is there a way to change that?

-Sonic
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nervous system, or CPU idle sunday General Bug Reports 2 01-16-2008 07:03 PM
High end sound cards & HTPC imported_Bęrt Sound and Multimedia 1 10-16-2007 07:19 AM
cpu idle questions bmartin Laptops 1 08-25-2007 05:42 PM
High Definition Audio xenonsoft Sound and Multimedia 30 07-26-2007 08:36 PM
Python and IDLE JMan General Questions 4 01-07-2007 05:53 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.