Old 12-27-2008, 05:15 PM

Default automounting mp3 player
I've been looking and there are several close threads, however none that seem to work. I'm trying to get PCBSD to recognize my Sansa Fuze to transfer music. Am I missing something? This is my first try at BSD and don't know exactly what other information to provide. This is a fresh install yesterday.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Old 12-27-2008, 05:29 PM

Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default Re: automounting mp3 player
information:

How does it connect to the computer? (USB, FireWire, custom cable / expansion card or USB dongle, etc)

How is the data stored on the player? (FAT file system, NTFS, Mac HFS+, proprietary to the device, etc)

I would expect it to connect to the computer via USB cable, and expose a FAT-based file system over the standard USB Mass Storage Device class - making it a fairly generic thing for any OS to copy music back & force and save it in the required way, irregardless of what it uses for internal storage of music: but I never put it past hardware vendors to screw people over with lock-ins.

If it is a USB mass storage/FAT file system based device, one should be able to plug it in, mount_msdosfs it as a da device.
Old 12-27-2008, 06:34 PM

My bad.......

I forgot the most basic things. Yes, I'm USB and the player is FAT. I do see the attempted connection in dmesg:

umass1: <SanDisk SanDisk Sansa Fuze, class 0/0, rev 2.00/46.8c, addr 2> on uhub4
umass1: at uhub4 port 6 (addr 2) disconnected
umass1: detached

Would I need to manually mount the device? What I'd eventually hope for is for the device to automatically mount.
Old 12-27-2008, 07:25 PM

Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
In my experience auto mounting with PC-BSD has always been very hit & miss; and PC-BSD 7.0 doesn't seem to be helping.