Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2008, 01:26 AM
cristobal cristobal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default mount_msdosfs: /dev/da0: : Device not configured
How do I configure my flash card reader so that I can mount flash media? I am new to BSD and used to linux os's automounting my flash cards when I insert them.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2008, 04:30 AM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default Re: mount_msdosfs: /dev/da0: : Device not configured
da0 is the drive itself, not the file system. Assuming you want the fist primary partition:

Code:
mount_msdosfs /dev/da0s1 /your/mount/point
should work as you desire it.


on some systems I've had t try mounting the drive (da0) before devfs would create the neccessary device node for the file systems (da0s1), but if one always uses the same port, it probably can be fixed with a tweak in the devfs configuration.



NB, /media is managed by HAL, so don't use it to hold your mount point.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2008, 12:34 PM
cristobal cristobal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: mount_msdosfs: /dev/da0: : Device not configured
when I try that I get:
Code:
mount_msdosfs: /dev/da0s1: : No such file or directory
do I need to create a partition on my flash card?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2008, 10:32 PM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default Re: mount_msdosfs: /dev/da0: : Device not configured
If you have files stored on it, the flash drive should already have a partition with a file system.

With the drive plugged in, what is the output of,

Code:
$ ls /dev | grep da
before and after running:

Code:
mount_msdosfs /dev/da0s1 /your/mount/point
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2008, 02:23 AM
cristobal cristobal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: mount_msdosfs: /dev/da0: : Device not configured
before:
%ls /dev | grep da
da0
da1

Code:
mount_msdosfs /dev/da0s1 /mnt/usb
mount_msdosfs: /dev/da0s1: : No such file or directory

after:
%ls /dev | grep da
da0
da1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2008, 03:10 AM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default Re: mount_msdosfs: /dev/da0: : Device not configured
Hmm, somewhat odd.

When you plug in the usb drive, do you get any response n the system console?


Running the command

Code:
$ dmesg -a
should display the consoles buffer but you can press control+alt+f1 to view it on the actual vtty, then plug in the drive, and it should update the screen with what it sees connected. You should be able to switch back to the desktop by pressing control+alt+f5; unless PC-BSD has changed this this back to control+alt+f9.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2008, 03:48 AM
cristobal cristobal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: mount_msdosfs: /dev/da0: : Device not configured
I got this response with
Code:
dmesg -a
and after pressing ctrl alt F1
Warning: pid 6054 used static ldt allocation.
See the i386_set_ldt man page for more info
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2008, 03:32 AM
TerryP TerryP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ga. USofA
Posts: 7,906
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default Re: mount_msdosfs: /dev/da0: : Device not configured
A quick google turns up this, but I don't see a serious problem from it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mixer: SOUND_MIXER_READ_DEVMASK: Device not configured kuantem Installing PC-BSD 1 01-04-2009 04:48 AM
french keyboard not configured in PCBSD 1.4.1 nox PC-BSD Installer 3 03-23-2008 04:03 PM
lo0 loopback device not configured correctly ronjoor Startup Bug Reports (read-only) 5 11-13-2006 08:06 PM
panic: CPU class not configured crmsnghst Installing PC-BSD 12 05-29-2006 04:33 AM
Pb Installation 1.0 on AMD -K6 = CPU class not configured kisuije83 Installing PC-BSD 1 05-09-2006 04:02 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.