Old 09-20-2008, 10:06 PM

Default New install, can only boot in safe mode
Hi folks,

I installed PC-BSD earlier today. Didn't see any problems or receive any error messages during installation. I can get to the boot-up screen and choose the first boot option. Soon, I see the following error:
Code:
Manual root filesystem specification
<fstype>:<device> Mount <dev> using filesystem <fstype>
When I list valid disk boot devices, I receive
Code:
List of GEOM managed disk devices
fd0
Would I be correct in assuming that fd0 is the floppy drive? If I boot into safe mode, everything seems to load up OK. I just re-ran the boot in verbose mode so I can hopefully look for any information you might need. It's not a dual-boot machine, so we don't have to worry about any other OSes installed.

I've used a bit of Linux, but other than that I'm a complete UNIX noob. I'm in an odd position: this is a work computer that the owner has instructed me to install PC-BSD on because I'm the guy who's got the time available to do so. Thanks for any help.
Old 09-20-2008, 10:16 PM

Send a message via ICQ to TerryP Send a message via AIM to TerryP Send a message via Yahoo to TerryP
Default Re: New install, can only boot in safe mode
The only times I've seen those messages are when /etc/fstab instructs the system to boot off a different drive, then system actually sees.

If you're only getting your floppy drive listed, there is probably a problem somewhere; either in the boot system accessing your hardware, or in the installed systems files.

(Ubuntu 6.06's alt cd installer got the partition wrong in /etc/fstab, but the linux 2.6.x kernel it installed, got it right >_>)
Old 12-06-2008, 08:30 PM

Bumping for great justice.