Old 07-30-2008, 12:30 PM

Default i'm a newbie, is pc bsd easy to use?
i'm getting a new desktop computer, but i'm not so keen on paying $300 for a windows vista. if i can get pcbsd for $0, i thought i'd give it a try. i'm hearing all kinds of linux stuff on tv and all the free software. i thought i'd use it for my new computer. i came across pcbsd on the net.

is pcbsd easy enough for a novice like me?

i normally use windows for openoffice, rip tracks off a CD, play dvds, play mp3s, surf the net, email, chat. can i do all that stuff easily with pcbsd?
Old 07-30-2008, 04:53 PM

Send a message via MSN to Protagonist
Default Re: i'm a newbie, is pc bsd easy to use?
Originally Posted by randomboy
i'm getting a new desktop computer, but i'm not so keen on paying $300 for a windows vista. if i can get pcbsd for $0, i thought i'd give it a try. i'm hearing all kinds of linux stuff on tv and all the free software. i thought i'd use it for my new computer. i came across pcbsd on the net.

i normally use windows for openoffice, rip tracks off a CD, play dvds, play mp3s, surf the net, email, chat. can i do all that stuff easily with pcbsd?
You can do all the things you mentioned using PC-BSD. Don't expect to be able to use a webcam, though. All of the things you mentioned are available with the PBI, push button installer, files so if your hardware is supported you should find it easy to use.

I would suggest you set aside a couple of weeks to try the various options available. Ubuntu on the Linux side has a live CD that will let you try it without installing it. I orefer the BSDs myself, but they are not for everybody.

PC-BSD is about a 10 - 15 minute install so it would be easy for you to give it a try.
There are alternatives
--------------------------------------
Old 07-30-2008, 07:44 PM

when you tell us more about your hardware anyone could give you a tip of using pc-bsd or not. because not all hardware is supported.
Old 07-31-2008, 12:41 AM