Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2011, 11:52 AM
DarkPhoenix DarkPhoenix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default App Cafe dont work in 1.5
It doesn't do anything. I search for Firefox and chrome for instance, and it finds nothing. I know the network is working because i'm using 1.5 to type this.

Last edited by DarkPhoenix; 08-21-2011 at 11:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2011, 05:35 PM
DarkPhoenix DarkPhoenix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
After reinstalling 3 times, the App Cafe now works. I don't know why. I used the same set up settings for all 3 installs. I suppose if anyone else has this problem they should try to reinstall a few times to see if it "catches" because that's what worked for me.

(Unless the repos were offline earlier and I had no way to know this, no indication.. just guessing)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2011, 07:03 PM
Abdul Abdul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 333
Thanks: 19
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by DarkPhoenix View Post
It doesn't do anything. I search for Firefox and chrome for instance, and it finds nothing. I know the network is working because i'm using 1.5 to type this.
Did you see app categories / latest apps?
I've had such issue and there were groupings for both, but empty. Searching wouldn't find anything.
After reinstall (different version though) it was fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2011, 07:58 PM
DarkPhoenix DarkPhoenix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
I did see what looked like grayed out buttons for app categories / latest apps one on top of the other but they didn't contain any info. I cant really remember what else was odd about it now that it's working again, I don't get a display like that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2011, 01:47 PM
kmoore134's Avatar
kmoore134 kmoore134 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 163 Times in 127 Posts
Default App Cafe dont work in 1.5
If this occurs again, can you send the output of "tail /var/log/pbid.log"?
__________________
----
Kris Moore
PC-BSD Founder
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-22-2011, 03:18 PM
DarkPhoenix DarkPhoenix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Originally Posted by kmoore134 View Post
If this occurs again, can you send the output of "tail /var/log/pbid.log"?
I sure will But I hope I wont have to reinstall again to cause it to happen. LOL I wish you had a lot more testers to try to duplicate these things. As a noob i feel i really don't help much but I'll do what i can.

I do notice at times it crashes on booting for different reasons.. either gives strange errors or the boot process freezes.
__________________
I'd put a banner here, If I only know how.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2011, 07:24 AM
Abdul Abdul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 333
Thanks: 19
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default
Got it again after reinstall.
The log shows only "Started pbid (date/time)"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2011, 07:45 AM
Abdul Abdul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 333
Thanks: 19
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default
Found the problem, the only issue with AppCafe seems to be insufficient error handling.

Internet connection on this install doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-24-2011, 07:25 PM
kmoore134's Avatar
kmoore134 kmoore134 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 0
Thanked 163 Times in 127 Posts
Default App Cafe dont work in 1.5
I've added a check to AppCafe which will warn you when the "meta" files
aren't present, usually because of a non-working internet connection
like in this case
__________________
----
Kris Moore
PC-BSD Founder
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.