Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2013, 04:05 AM
sunnyeveryday sunnyeveryday is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Opera 12.12 fails to load
FreeBSD pcbsd-4667 9.1-RELEASE FreeBSD 9.1-RELEASE #2: Tue Nov 27 03:45:16 UTC 2012 root@darkstar:/usr/obj/pcbsd-build90/fbsd-source/9.1/sys/GENERIC amd64


Chromium, Firefox and Konqueror work fine.

Opera 12.12 launch icon bounces up and down for several seconds, then nothing.

/var/log/messages show this during the launch timeframe

Jan 28 00:02:25 pcbsd-4667 kernel: pid 2340 (opera), uid 1001: exited on signal 10
  #2  
Old 01-28-2013, 11:49 AM
Beanpole's Avatar
Beanpole Beanpole is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,496
Thanks: 17
Thanked 438 Times in 354 Posts
Default
This sounds like the same error that was reported for Opera 12.11, the fix for that is as follows:
Quote:
20121128:
AFFECTS: Users of www/opera
AUTHOR: itetcu@FreeBSD.org

If you are running KDE and you are using KDE's File dialog toolkit, and if
your Opera crashes on start with a 'libpng error: incorrect data check'
you can work around it by setting 'Dialog Toolkit=4' in your
.opera/operaprefs.ini [File Selector] section.
__________________
~ Ken Moore ~
PC-BSD/iXsystems
The Following User Says Thank You to Beanpole For This Useful Post:
jadecat09 (04-12-2013)
  #3  
Old 02-23-2013, 12:36 AM
Zagzigger Zagzigger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Clarification please
My ./opera/operaprefs.ini has:
==============================
Opera Preferences version 2.1
; Do not edit this file while Opera is running
; This file is stored in UTF-8 encoding

[User Prefs]
Home URL=http://blekko.com/pcbsd
Show Startup Dialog=0
Startup Type=2
Language Files Directory=
Preferences Version=6

[State]
Detected Country Code=US
Active Country Code=US
Active Region=us
=========================

And adding 'Dialog Toolkit=4' seems to have no effect.

I suspect I misunderstand something here; I hope someone can help.

Opera 12.14 from AppCafe.
Running on PSBSD 9.1 release amd64

Thanks
  #4  
Old 02-23-2013, 06:44 AM
q/pa q/pa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Thanks: 26
Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
Default
Did you put it in the [File Selector] section?
  #5  
Old 02-23-2013, 08:54 AM
Zagzigger Zagzigger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default
Thanks for the rapid reply.

>Did you put it in the [File Selector] section?

That's my problem - where is the [File Selector] section? -'cos as you can see from my .operaprefs.ini - it doesn't have one.

Apologies if I'm being particularly dense here.

Thanks,
  #6  
Old 02-23-2013, 11:07 AM
q/pa q/pa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Thanks: 26
Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
Default
No problem. Simply add these lines to your *.operaprefs.ini :

[File Selector]
Dialog Toolkit=4
  #7  
Old 02-23-2013, 12:04 PM
Zagzigger Zagzigger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default
Originally Posted by q/pa View Post
No problem. Simply add these lines to your *.operaprefs.ini :

[File Selector]
Dialog Toolkit=4
Many thanks.

I nearly tried that earlier, but it seemed too simple.

Thanks again
  #8  
Old 03-22-2013, 11:17 PM
sysfu sysfu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 318
Thanks: 22
Thanked 34 Times in 27 Posts
Default
Would it be possible to build this fix into the Opera PBI? Still happens an fresh installs with Opera 12.14.

It will probably throw newb users for a loop, and is mildly annoying for a technical user.
  #9  
Old 04-01-2013, 06:02 PM
sunnyeveryday sunnyeveryday is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Back...been a long time but I just tried Opera again.

Yes, the solution fixed the issue.

[File Selector]
Dialog Toolkit=4


Shouldn't this be built-in to the package ?

Thanks again.
  #10  
Old 04-25-2013, 07:51 PM
Mr.Bean Mr.Bean is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default
Where can I access to .operaprefs.ini???
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 2005-2010, The PC-BSD Project. PC-BSD and the PC-BSD logo are registered trademarks of iXsystems.
All other content is freely available for sharing under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.