PDA

View Full Version : How can I put my laptop to sleep and hibernate?

john.e3
10-10-2007, 11:05 PM
Hi,

I am new to PC-BSD, I just kicked out winXP and thought I would try PC-BSD. The install went fine, except for I can't seem to get the screen resolution 1400x900 that I had with WinXP :cry: while using PC-BSD. I am guessing there must be some driver problem for my ATI Radeon x700 graphics card. I can't seem to find any info on how install a driver for it.

Anyway, I really need to implement some sort of sleep and hibernate power management scheme. In windows, I could just close the lid and my laptop would go to sleep and resume when I open the lid.

Can this be done using PC-BSD? If so, how.

Thank you.
John

angryfirelord
11-11-2007, 02:30 AM
Unfortunately, the only driver that can get your resolution is the fglrx driver which works only on....Linux. The open-source driver doesn't support your card. I'd keep an eye on the radeonhd driver, in fact it exists in ports, but is still experimental at this point.

As for suspend/hibernate, try this thread: http://forums.pcbsd.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4695&hilit=hibernate

.ee
05-25-2008, 11:40 PM
Is it already possible to stand-by and hibernate laptops on freeBSD or PC-BSD or any other variation of freeBSD?

I am testing RoFreeSBie now where standby button on my laptop puts it to some kind of sleeping mode where from I cannot wake it up without shutting it down,
and the hibernate button produces no reaction at all.

TerryP
05-26-2008, 12:22 AM
FreeBSD can handle it via ACPI and APM where sufficiently supported.

You might find this thread (http://forums.pcbsd.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4695) useful. I've put it to a test though.

Oko
05-26-2008, 04:33 AM
Is it already possible to stand-by and hibernate laptops on freeBSD or PC-BSD or any other variation of freeBSD?

I am testing RoFreeSBie now where standby button on my laptop puts it to some kind of sleeping mode where from I cannot wake it up without shutting it down,