PDA

View Full Version : How the hell do you use ports?

OptimusChrist
11-23-2006, 06:59 AM
I'm a total noob to *nix. I do want to learn though, so I figured I'd install Opera from ports. I add the pkg fine, but when I attempt to make a clean install it ALWAYS (no matter what program i'm trying to install from ports) tells me there is no such directory.

Is this because I need to run CVsup? I started too but it was downloading a sh*tload of data and my PC-BSD HDD is only 20 gigs and I didn't know how much it was gonna install. Any help?

TerryP
11-23-2006, 07:48 AM
You do need to install the ports collection before you can use ports to install software. It's about 200~400MB of directories, software discritions, makefiles e.t.c. Every thing needed to fetch, configure, compile, and install the port.

You can install the ports collection via GUI or CLI. In the GUI use the PC-BSD System program, Tasks Tab->Fetch Ports

Via command line depending on preference/verison

All Free/PC-BSD

portsnap fetch extract

or PC-BSD <=1.2

cvsup -L 1 /root/ports-supfile

Or PC-BSD == 1.3Beta

csup -L 1 /root/ports-supfile.

Install software by opening a terminal or changing direction in one to the ports directory. Example: Joe's Own Editor is in /usr/ports/editors/joe

give it a make install clean and go on coffer break. If it has any build options it will prompt you for them when needed. You might want to pkg_add -r portupgrade if it's not installed (good tool suite). You can uninstall ports the same as installing them but use "make deinstall" instead of "make install clean"

On http://www.pbidir.com there is a program named BPM (Bsd Ports Maniputlator) it's a dev build but it's a very nice no frillz ports install/uninstall GUI with basic searching.

Charles
11-23-2006, 10:25 AM
I hope this helps :)
http://docs.pcbsd.org/guide/chap4.1.html

jdarnold
11-23-2006, 02:48 PM
After you get the ports tree populated, I recommend using portmanager:

# portsnap fetch extract update