PDA

View Full Version : No iconv() implementation found in C library or libiconv

08-09-2006, 11:19 PM
I got this error while trying to configure glib-2.10.0
I know that libiconv is installed because I just installed it but obviously it needs some sort of config but since I am new at this stuff, I do not know what to do. Any help is appreciated.

checking for iconv_open... no
checking for libiconv_open in -liconv... no
checking for iconv_open in -liconv... no
configure: error: *** No iconv() implementation found in C library or libiconv
PCBSD#

Can someone give me a clue?
Thanks.

TerryP
08-10-2006, 01:12 AM
libiconv is a character set conversion lib, glib to my info is a jack of all trades weather you use gtk+ or not.

The configure error suggests to me for some reason the application is trying to make a function call that it's not finding in the source or headers, why is beyond me with this much information.

PC-BSD_1.2%pkg_info |grep glib
glib-2.10.3 Some useful routines of C programming (current stable version)

Why are you installing an older version of what you have or am I mistaken?

08-10-2006, 02:20 AM
libiconv is a character set conversion lib, glib to my info is a jack of all trades weather you use gtk+ or not.

The configure error suggests to me for some reason the application is trying to make a function call that it's not finding in the source or headers, why is beyond me with this much information.

PC-BSD_1.2%pkg_info |grep glib
glib-2.10.3 Some useful routines of C programming (current stable version)

Why are you installing an older version of what you have or am I mistaken?
Truthfully, I was going by the SeaMonkey from source requirements list and that seemed to be the newest at the site that visited from the links in the page. I do not know all of the ins and outs of a lot of this stuff. Some things I am OK with.
Anyway, I will probably search out what you said is the newest and install that.
Thanks again.

08-10-2006, 01:38 PM