PDA

View Full Version : I cant run amarok


branislaw
04-11-2006, 08:32 PM
Hi

when i install amarok from PBI a then run, it write:

%amarok
amaroK: [Loader] Starting amarokapp..
amaroK: [Loader] Don't run gdb, valgrind, etc. against this binary! Use amarokapp.
/libexec/ld-elf.so.1: Shared object "libexpat.so.5" not found, required by "libmusicbrainz.so.4"


what now ? :)

uname -a
FreeBSD PCBSD.siet.sk 6.0-RELEASE-p4 FreeBSD 6.0-RELEASE-p4 #1: Wed Feb 1 11:50:06 PST 2006 root@PCBSD.localhost:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/GENERIC i386

kh54
04-24-2006, 05:14 PM
Amarok is installed by default by Kde (KDE programs < Multimedia) and there is no need to install it through PBI

mal.exe
04-24-2006, 05:21 PM
no, i do not have it either in my kde menu.

madman
04-24-2006, 05:53 PM
Amarok is installed by default by Kde (KDE programs < Multimedia) and there is no need to install it through PBI
I think you are mistaken, its not installed by default in PCBSD

kh54
04-24-2006, 05:53 PM
Quite strange? I have it installed together with many other players (Mplayer, Kmplayer, Kboodle etc) and tools in the KDE multimedia package (kdemultimedia) installed by KDE 3.5.2?
However, you can use KMplayer to run any media files you have, or you can install Amarok through ports to ensure all libraries required are installed. As I remember, the PBI version worked only for me before some PCBSD updates were applied and got broken after that.

mal.exe
04-24-2006, 05:56 PM
you have the software installed because you got an older version installed of PCBSD then you update it. If you install RC2, it won't come bundle with the system.